The Selective Collective: The Murmurings Casting Call


Welcome to The Selective Collective. Together with our friends at The Book Addict’s Guide, Gone Pecan, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks, we’ll be exploring a new release in its entirety, from review to author spotlight, to a roundtable chat, among other fun things.

This week we’re discussing The Murmurings by Carly Anne West.

The Murmurings

Everyone thinks Sophie’s sister, Nell, went crazy. After all, she heard strange voices that drove her to commit suicide. But Sophie doesn’t believe that Nell would take her own life, and she’s convinced that Nell’s doctor knows more than he’s letting on.

As Sophie starts to piece together Nell’s last days, every lead ends in a web of lies. And the deeper Sophie digs, the more danger she’s in—because now she’s hearing the same haunting whispers. Sophie’s starting to think she’s going crazy too. Or worse, that maybe she’s not… (Goodreads)

Hello, creepyville!

This week my job was to come up with casting for The Murmurings. Normally, this is one of my favorite things to do, but this time around, while I had clear mental pictures of each character, I had trouble assigning an actual actor who matched the people in my head. Sandie, the movie-goddess over at Teen Lit Rocks, came to my aid and honestly, she couldn’t have picked better.

Let’s see what you think:

Sophie

Odeya Rush

Odeya Rush

I think Odeya Rush perfectly captures Sophie. The main thing that stands out in the author’s description is her dark hair (which she has dyed to an almost purplish red).

Nell

Troian Bellisario

Troian Bellisario

We only meet Nell in flashbacks and through her own strange, eerie diary. Sophie remembers her clearly, with the same dark hair and that confident beauty older sisters always seem to have (until things got crazy). This is perfectly captured in Troian Bellisario.

Evan

Shane Harper

Shane Harper

Evan is a sweet jock who is probably the only person in school not trying to avoid Sophie. He’s described as being athletic and handsome, with a long face. This one really stumped me, but I think the suggestion of Shane Harper was pretty fantastic.

Dr. Keller ( I picked this one! Hooray!)

Bruce Greenwood

Bruce Greenwood

The only person I clearly pictured and could match to a celeb was the creepy Dr. Keller, from the facility that treated Sophie’s sister, Nell. Bruce Greenwood is probably a bit too old to play Keller, but this is exactly how I saw him. Also, this man always plays captains and presidents (have I seen National Treasure 2 too many times? I think yes), why not the head of a questionably creepy facility that without a doubt makes people feel less sane with each passing day?

Be sure to check out my blogging partners in The Selective Collective as they continue to explore The Murmurings:

The Book Addict’s Guide- Roundtable

Gone Pecan- Review

The Grown Up YA-Author Q&A

Teen Lit Rocks- Ghosts All Around Us

Special thanks to Simon Pulse for providing review copies of The Murmurings!

3 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: The Murmurings Casting Call

  1. Great choices Tee (and Sandie)!!! I really like Odeya for Sophie and I LOVE your choice for Dr. Keller! It’s not quite how I pictured him but seeing Bruce Greenwood, I was like YES that’s even better than what I pictured!!! 🙂

  2. Ooh, I will mark this day on my calendar: you called me a movie-goddess. So sweet. I really love your pick of Bruce Greenwood — and I knew that’s who you meant when you said the actor who plays the president or however it is you described him. Bruce is awesome!

Leave a Reply

