Top Ten Tuesday- Fav Books From Before

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted my the awesomeness over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we’re discussing our favorite books from those days long ago, before we were bloggers.

Honestly, there are some books I read and loved to the point that they made me want to discuss them and shout about them from the rooftops (part of why I’m a blogger) that I actually read them again and reviewed them for this blog when it first started. Books like  The Princess Diaries series,  If I Stay, The Summer I Turned Pretty, Jellicoe Road, The Truth About Forever, and The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks are among those. There are some, however, that I talk about but have never bothered to review. Here are just a few:

Graceling1. Graceling by Kristin Cashore- Fantastic story set in a mythical world. Great romance and an amazing, butt-kicking heroine.

The Enemy2. The Enemy by Charlie Higson- Zombies!

Sweethearts3. Sweethearts by Sara Zarr- Powerful, like all Zarr books. This one is melancholy and has a beautiful friendship that could be something more if circumstances weren’t so sucky. You will love Cameron Quick. Trust me.

The Book Thief4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak- Such a beautiful, tragic story of survival and rebellion set during the holocaust and narrated by none other than Death himself.

Ruby Oliver5. The Boyfriend books by E. Lockhart- These books are hilarious. The main character, Ruby, has verbal diarrhea, she’s funny and her family is crazy in an endearing sort of way. Follow her as she lists (and footnotes) her experiences with boys.The Lightning Thief6. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan- I love these books. So creative, so funny. The perfect amount of Greek mythology, creativity and humor. And all of the books are good. Every single one.

Austenland7. Austenland by Shannon Hale- Girl obsessed with Mr. Darcy and BBC miniseries version of Colin Firth. Girl has no romantic life to speak of. Girl inherits mysterious trip to Jane Austen-themed resort tucked away in the English Countryside. Girl goes. Girl dresses up like the olden-times and acts like a lady. Girl meets cute actors paid to make her swoon. Love it.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince8. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling- I’m sure I’m preaching to the converted here but this series is amazing.Night9. Night by Elie Wiesel- Oh, this one hurts. It’s the author’s real account of his experience as a teenager in a concentration camp with his father. He’s truly heartbreaking is his honesty.

TTW10. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger- This is my all-time favorite book!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Fav Books From Before

  1. I loved sweethearts as well. Like you, I read it in my preblogging days and haven’t talked about it on my blog. Some of these other one’s i’ll have to check out though! Thanks for sharing (:

    Gabbie @ Rampant Readers

  2. I’m reading the Ruby Oliver books right now and they are SO CUTE! I’ve also gotta read Sweethearts for book club this month; can’t wait to get started!

    • Isn’t Ruby so freaking funny? Love her. And now, when I make brownies (which is often) I have to call them Ninja Brownies. Have you gotten to that yet? I can’t remember which book it’s in.

  3. Ohhh Graceling is such a good one! I really need to continue that series! And the way you’ve been talking about Sweethearts – I’m so excited to get to that one soon!!! 🙂

  4. Seriously, Harry Potter is the best! And I need to read Austenland. I grabbed the ebook when it was a kindle daily deal awhile ago but still haven’t read it. Which is ridiculous because I love Jane Austen and Shannon Hale.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

