Going Vintage for Realsies

Hot on the heels of my professed love for Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt (did you miss the fact that she’s my new bestie and that she wrote this awesome book about going old school?), the folks at Shabby Apple have offered us a giveaway this former fashionista could not resist: a $50 gift certificate for one of our readers (I know!).

shabby apple

I mean, look at just a few of the gorgeous things they have online:

1995

And then there’s this

1998

And OMG, don’t forget this ring

1300

You know you want to win this gift certificate so you can go vintage too.

The How:

Simply tell me what television show or book set in another decade (let’s do anything before the 2000’s) you’d want to live in and why. Don’t forget to include your e-mail. And be sure to check out Shabby Apple’s vintage clothing.

The Rules:

This contest closes on Friday, April 19 at 9:00PM PST. After that date I will randomly select a winner and contact them via e-mail. If you win and do not respond within 48 hours, a new winner will be chosen. This contest is open to US Residents only.

Good luck!

9 thoughts on “Going Vintage for Realsies

  1. Oh, man… I know most people will probably say “Mad Men” or something, but I think I’d want to do the late-80s/early-90s thing a la the Babysitters Club books and “My So-Called Life.” Those girls seemed to have way more freedom (and responsibility in the BSC’s case) than I ended up having at the same age in the early 2000s.

  2. i love the idea of the time when people dressed up as an everyday event. they wore dresses and heels and hats and gloves, so anytime between the 40s (preferably after the war, because depressing) to the mid 60s. i do believe you have my email 😉

    • have you ever seen the show Homefront, with a very young Kyle Chandler? das what I’m talkin’ ’bout. (you have to say it in the voice of Gru)

  3. I knew about this giveaway, and I’m totally into vintage clothes/styles… but wow, I cannot think what show I’d like to live in! I’m gonna go with I Dream of Jeannie as my TV show and Perks of Being a Wallflower as my book… mostly because I think it would’ve been cool to be an adult in Jeannie and a teen in Wallflower! 🙂

  4. I would say Downton Abbey… simply because I’m obsessed with the show 😀 haha! Thanks for the chance, Shabby Apple has some AMAZINGLY cute clothes!
    Melissa
    mjp_0419 at yahoo dot com

  5. Oh, fun! I’m going to be the odd woman out and say that I’d pick Barrayar, the fictional planet (can it be fictional?) created by Lois McMaster Bujold. It’s such a fun mix of futuristic technology and Regency romance! Her ladies can wear space uniforms or Regency-era gowns, depending on the event. Love it!

    aprilgilbertson(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. I’d love to live in Concord Massachusetts- Little Women by Louisa May Alcott era. Fun question- it made me think!

Comments are closed.