Top Ten Tuesday Rewind- Books I’ll Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TTT3W

This week our topic is somewhat of a freebie. We get to pick any past topic to revisit. I’ve chosen Books I’ll Never Read, mainly because a) There are a lot of them and b) I don’t think I’ve ever done this topic before (truth be told I’m too lazy to look it up and I have a really bad memory unless song lyrics or lines from 1980’s movies are concerned).

I know, I know. Never say never. Blah, blah, blah. But for serious, I will never read these books. And the fact that I will never read them does not mean they aren’t great books. In many cases, I believe these are popular because they touch a certain nerve in most people–they just aren’t for me.

Fabio1. Anything with Fabio on the cover (or the like)– As a teen, I used to skim my grandmother’s bodice rippers for the more salacious parts until I realized that the intense detail seriously grossed me out. Now, while I don’t mind steam in books (in fact, I often like it) I don’t really want to know about anything that’s throbbing or quivering or doing anything super-extreme. I get the picture; they did it. For that type of thing, I prefer books like Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, which has tons of, um, steam (and lots of biting for some reason), but are also very well-written. Now those leave me feeling like I need a ciggy.

Fifty Shades2. Fifty Shades of Grey– I have no criticism for anyone who likes these books, but when all that hullabaloo about whether or not it was legal because the story was originally Twilight fan fic began, I read excerpts online comparing her novel to the original fan fiction and sweet holy moley that was some seriously crappy writing. I mean, hello, I could barely finish two paragraphs before I was rolling my eyes. No thanks. Again, I take no issue with steam in books, but I really don’t want the bad writing. Or to read about fists in strange places.

Anna K3. Anna Karenina- I know it’s supposed to be beautiful, but I can promise you that it will never be read by me.

N Sparks4. Anything else by Nicholas Sparks- Yeah, I hate him. It’s nothing personal. I read A Walk to Remember and The Notebook and all I can say is a thousand times no.

Lean In5. Lean In– Of course, I’ve been reading a ton about this book but while I fully support that women should be a equal force of power and success in our world, books like this often portray women like me–one’s who willingly gave up successful, fun careers to be stay-at home moms– as either not living to our fullest potential or worse, as a betrayal to the cause of feminism. Now, I’m not saying this book does that, but I don’t want to read it and find out. I hope sincerely that one day (alert: pipe dream coming), women can stop bashing each other for deciding to work or deciding to be home and just support one another for being an integral part of society as well as loving, giving mothers no matter what our ultimate career choice is. I will step down from the podium now, thank you.

Game of Thrones6. The Game of Thrones series- Saw it on HBO. I know it’s different, but it’s good enough for me. Plus, two words: Kit Harington.

Red Fern7. Where The Red Fern Grows– Somehow I was never required to read this in school. Now that my sixth grader has read it and explained to me how very, very sad it is there is definitely no way I’d pick it up.

The Hobbit8. The Hobbit– My husband is all excited because he says that he and the kids are going to read this together this summer. More power to them, but I am not interested. I love that world and those characters, but for some reason the books (The Hobbit and any of the LOTR novels) just don’t appeal to me.

House of Night9. Any of the House of Night books- These could be great books; I have no idea. I’m just not a big fanny fan fan of vampires. So sue me.

Iron Fey10. The Iron Fey series- These are probably wonderful. That is, for people who don’t completely and totally hate fairy books. I’m not one of those people.

Happy Tuesday!

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Rewind- Books I’ll Never Read

  1. Yeah, I read The Iron King and while I appreciated how wellt he story was written……… I just don’t like faeries! I tried *shrugs*
    Mmmm Kit Harrington! The books are actually really good too! Well, Book. I’m in the middle of book one so far haha. It’s so long, but it’s actually going by really quickly!
    Yeahhhh, I am not reading Fifty Shades. My friends (non-readers…. if that makes any difference) loved them and I was like NO WAY haha.
    I made it halfway through Anna Karenina and it was good but I just never went back!

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with every book on this list. You were darn lucky to have been spared having to read Where the Red Fern Grows. If I had to do it all again, I would have taken a 0 on the book report rather than read it.

  3. Why no Anna Karenina? Is it the adultery? I have to say, I’m kinda surprised (I emailed you) about Lean In. I’ve found that feminism DOES support the choice to stay at home, as long as it’s really the woman’s choice (like in certain cases, a woman can earn more than her husband, so why not have the husband stay at home?). I’ve actually felt the opposite. In the Christian community, at least, it’s those of us who work who are portrayed as going against God’s plan for our families, not adhering to biblical principles, etc.

    • Totally agree about our Christian community. Same tends to go for whether or not you homeschool, which I never understand. Why does Christian have to mean homeschooling? I totally agree that the man or woman can stay home; whatever works. In our case, the most ” traditional” way worked, but we tried to have me keep my job. I was unhappy missing my daughter and my job, with the long hours, travel and commute, just wasn’t a good fit. I’ve never felt supported by the feminist community and I think part of that is because I tend to have more conservative views anyway, but often the messages I hear tend to suggest that to give up a career is such a big sacrifice, or something forced in the woman by the male. In my case, while we sacrifice money, I consider it the best, most incredible thing I’ve ever done and in that way it’s a blessing and not a sacrifice. But you know all that because you’re the same. 🙂

      • Oh, I agree with you, and I think that every couple (regardless of whether it’s male-female or not) needs to make this decision together about their family. For some women, it’s a given: OF COURSE I will stay home or OF COURSE I will work full time or OF COURSE I’m a partner and you’re a PE teacher, so you should stay at home, but for a big percentage of us, it’s a lot of soul searching and figuring out what’s best for our family. I find it disheartening to hear that you feel shut out of feminism, because it’s how we even got to the place we’re at to discuss these issues. Without feminists, we’d all be back in the Betty Friedan days with a big percentage of women who drank themselves to stupor after their husbands got home feeling unfulfilled and repressed. Of course, ALL OF THIS is also an issue of class. For some women, working is absolutely not a choice. It’s the only way their children will eat. I’m thankful I’ve had the choice to freelance; I hate the politics of full time office work. But I also think it’s the hardest thing I’ve done, to juggle being home but also working at the same time. Yeesh, sorry for the treatise!

      • I totally agree with you on all counts. And for me, coming from a career in the fashion industry, a world dominated by women and fabulous gay men, I have rarely experienced sexism in the workplace, so sometimes it doesn’t even cross my mind. We do not need to go back to the ages where women did basically nothing until they landed a husband and where their sole purpose in life was to serve him. I love the role I’ve chosen, but I chose it. It’s what I wanted. It makes me happy and more fulfilled than ever to watch my kids grow, to be in their classrooms , and yes, even to dote on my husband. And it makes him happy to know I’m happy. It works for us. Having the choice to have the stay at home life or a career is a wonderful thing and I absolutely credit that to feminism, there are just other parts of feminism that I don’t identify with (which I e-mailed to you). But yes, thank God for the women who paved the way before us.And don’t apologize, I knew this convo would come up when I listed that book and I totally love it.

      • i love this whole discussion. finally, women can admit to being feminist without another woman looking at her like she’s crazy. of course, that may just be the locality in which I experienced this (south Louisiana), but I’m a proud feminist and I fully support women who stay home and those who work. i think it’s a personal choice and neither is better than the other. i love you, ladies! smooches.

  4. I love that you flat out say you’re not going to read these books. But I feel ya.. there are just some books out there that I will point blank never read. I’m sure they’re fab, but they’re not for me.

    I was SUPPOSED to read Anna Karenina for my classics challenge… but I chose instead to watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer. 🙂

  5. Oh my gosh, I did the same the post, and we have some similiar books. Nicholas Sparks, Where the Red Fern Grows! And I also don’t really like The Hobbit or LOTR.

  6. Excellent list! I stay far, FAR away from 50 Shades of Gray, and I often feel antsy about jumping into YA series that are already several books along.

    ALTHOUGH – one of my favourite books of all time ORIGINALLY had Fabio on the cover: “Flowers from the Storm” by Laura Kinsale. Seriously – one of my fave books, regardless of genre. They’ve released it with a better cover, so I’d definitely recommend it – a brilliant mathematician has a stroke and loses the ability to speak and comprehend language, and the Quaker daughter of one of his partners has to help him recover his place in the world. Not too explicit love scenes – plus kittens!

  7. Thanks for the list you posted online. I know my sister Simone read #7 on your list and it’s really a depressing book. My other sister Lauren read #8 twice, but my parents already read #8 before us millenials. I may be the one to read #8 (and any of the LOTR books) as a conclusion to the main arc for the pure imagination journey, #3 and #4 in my life as a NA in college with #2, #5, The Alchemist and The Awakening. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

