Unravel Me

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Unravel Metick

tick

tick

tick

tick

it’s almost time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life. (Goodreads)

Ok, so this review may be slobbery, giddy and completely incoherent because you guys, the main word I have for you is Warner Warner Warner. I mean, I probably shouldn’t want to kiss his face off get too excited because the series isn’t over yet, but I have gone off the deep end as far as this whole love story is concerned. Anyone read this yet? Chapter 62? Hello, I read it about 12 times the day after I finished it. I made my husband read the parts I highlighted (which was most of it). Poor guy, I know.

And for those of you who haven’t read it, those of you expecting a review that totally makes sense, man, I’m sorry. Because HOT DAMN WARNER!!! And yeah, there’s this cool war and there’s the resistance and all and it’s great, but you guys….Warner.

The Story:

This book picks up almost immediately after Shatter Me (it overlaps just a smidge with Destroy Me). Juliette, Adam, and Kenji are safely nestled in the  facility known as Omega Pointe. This place is sort of like Xavier’s School For Gifted Youngsters, only everyone is hiding out in military-style barracks deep underground. Juliette is trying to adjust to her new life there as impending doom looms ahead (they know Warner and his men will stop at nothing to get her back). Castle, who runs the facility, speaks of an all-out war on the horizon and is prepping the people of Omega Pointe to fight. He’s trying to help Juliette harness her insane power, something she struggles to do and he’s working to figure out why Adam can touch her and no one else can (Um, except for WARNER, that is–but no one knows that. They also don’t know he professed his love for her. Or that they kissed).

Juliette is have a difficult time with so many things. She can’t do the things Castle is expecting (she just doesn’t know how to control her power), she feels alienated because it’s obvious that everyone at the facility fears her, and she wants to be with Adam with every fiber of her being. At a turning point she realizes this may not be the best–the safest–option for him and it eats away at the both of them. And a certain someone comes along and makes matters worse (or better, depending on how you look at it).

The big idea here is that Juliette begins to figure herself out. Don’t get me wrong, she’s confused as can be on many counts, but in this book she has to learn about her power, about how it works with those around her and about how she fits into the team there. She has to look at where her loyalties lie and wonder if she’s truly seeing the whole picture. She is a character I continue to adore in every decision, every misstep, every moment she loves and hurts.  She is full of honesty and pain, emotion and passion and her relationships with Adam and Warner, while different, show these facets of her personality.  Both are so fantastic in their own way, Adam safe and ever-devoted, Warner dark and extreme in his love for her. I know where my heart lies in this triangle, but I see her conflict. (Juliette, let me make that decision for you, k? Pick Warner).

As with the first book, the steamy kissing is insanely good and in some instances it is off the charts. Shazam.  I’m not joking. I was DYING. I really read and read it over and over again and then I e-mailed by blogging besties because I needed to discuss it. Then I texted my bookish pals (I know, I probably shouldn’t be admitting to all of this). It was that good.

Whatever team you’re on, this is an immensely good sequel. In fact, I think I liked it better than the first book. We get to know everyone a bit better and it’s easier to have empathy for each character. And of course, now I’m dying for the final book. Why do we have to wait so long?

Crush Intensity: 5/5 This will be one of my favorites this year.

Memorable Quotes: Sweet lord, I’m going to have to reel myself in here so that we don’t get too very spoilery. I’m going to be fair to Adam and to Warner and give one of each.

Adam:

His voice is thick when he finally speaks. “I’ve waited so long to be with you, ” he says. “I’ve wanted this–I’ve wanted you for so long and now, after everything—“

“Adam, what are y—“

“I can’t sleep. I can’t sleep and I think about you all–all the time and I can’t–” He stops. Presses the heels of his hands to his forehead. Squeezes his eyes shut. Turns toward the wall so I can’t see his face. “You should know–you have to know,” he says, the words raw, seeming to drain him, “that I have never wanted anything like I’ve wanted you. Nothing. Because this–this–I mean, God, I want you, Juliette, I want–I want–“

Warner iloveyouiloveyouiloveyou

I feel him so much closer, filling the air around me until there’s nothing but him and his body heat, the smell of fresh soap and something unidentifiable, something sweet but not, something real and hot, something that smells like him, like it belongs to him, like he was poured into the bottle I’m drowning in and I don’t even realize I’m leaning into him, inhaling the scent of his neck until I find his fingers are no longer on my lips because his hands are around my waist and he says

“You,” and he whispers it, letter by letter he presses the word into my skin before he hesitates.

Then.

Softer.

His chest, heaving harder this time. His words, almost gasping this time. “You destroy me.”

I know!!!! I’m a puddle on the floor right now, too.

 

4 thoughts on “Unravel Me

  1. Reading those blurbs at work was a total bad idea. Bad. Idea. I can’t wait to write my review on this and all the sexiness that is Warner!

    Oh, and you totally stole my X-Men comparison! I kept thinking that the ENTIRE time I was reading! 🙂

    Okay, you didn’t really steal it.

  2. Pingback: Fracture Me | YA Crush

  3. Pingback: Ignite Me (please) | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

