Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Thought I’d Love More (Or Less)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is hosted my the awesomeness over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we’re discussing books we thought we’d love more. And the ones we thought we’d love less. This is a tough subject because so many books are either a million times more breathtaking than I ever could have imagined or they’re, well, meh. It isn’t always fair that we hear such hype about a book and it just can’t always live up to it, so I will do my best to be very honest while keeping that in mind.

Thought I’d Like More:

1. The Goddess Inheritance by Aimee Carter- I liked this book, but I thought my intense love of Henry would carry me further. Nope. I was just expecting something more.

2. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare- Yeah, it pains me to list that one, it really does. I think, as much as I love these characters, this story is over for me.

3. Matched by Allie Condie- The premise was fantastic, the cover is gorgeous but I was never able to feel more than apathetic toward this book. I’m thrilled for the people who love it, but I never fell into those ranks.

4. Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson- This book is totally cute, don’t get me wrong, but I fell so in love with the premise and it somehow ended up feeling like it fell short.

5. Hallowed by Cynthia Hand- Yes, another sequel. Another sequel from a series where I flipped over the first book (or books). It’s not fair to the books that come after that I feel let-down since my crazy love for certain books soars so high. This was a good book with good characters, it just felt long, like there wasn’t enough steam to keep it going. I still want to read book three.

Thought I’d Like Less:

1. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness- Make no mistake, I knew this book would be amazing, but I had no idea it would touch my heart and soul the way it did. This will go on the list (it’s a long one) of my favorite books of all-time. It is absolutely one of my favorite series.

2. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch- This is a recent read, and it stands out in my mind for the fact that it sounded like a good story, but not something I would read and reread. I fell in love with this book, with the girls, with the writing. It was absolutely beautiful.

3. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson- This book sounded good, but really too sad for words, so I avoided it for quite a while. Of course, I was blown away by it. Of course, I fell in love with it. It is my of my favorite books and probably the number one book I recommend to people. I knew it would make me cry at times, but I had no idea how hard it would make me laugh, how wide it would make me smile, and how much I’d swoon over it all.

4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell- Oh, another book that sounded super sweet and cute. And it was, but I wasn’t prepared for the incredibly funny, beautiful romance it held. I adored this book. I wanted to hug it to my chest when I was finished reading it.

5. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry- This book seemed like a knock off of Perfect Chemistry. I was totally wrong. I was SO sucked in. It was romantic, and painful and so good. I devoured it in about a day.

There are so many more that can go on this list (both parts), but these stand out in my most recent memory. I sound like a broken record on a few but that’s only because they are always at the forefront of my mind (because they’re so good!).

What about you? Any books you’d add to this list?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Thought I’d Love More (Or Less)

  1. While I loved the Goddess Test series (hello.. Henry!) The Goddess Inheritance did fall a little flat for me. Also, totally agree with you on City of Lost Souls. I just want to yell “do it already!” to Jace and Clary. But your books that you thought you’d like less… oh wow, I totally thought I’d like them a lot less than I did! I never ever ever thought I’d like the Chaos Walking trilogy as much as I do! Great list!

  2. Matched and 13 Little Blue Envelopes were both exactly the same for me. I couldn’t really get excited about Matched, and I haven’t read any of the others in the series. 13LBE sounded awesome when I read the premise, but the book itself I found really disappointing and flat. Great list – I really want to read Eleanor and Park!

  3. I *heart* this list! What I *heart* most is I haven’t read a single one of your “thought I’d like less books.” NOW I have new books to add to my must read list. Wait… is that a good thing? *facepalm/fist pump* <– You decide!

    p.s. I still haven't read Lost Soul & after the fail of CP deuce I'm purdy positive I'm not gonna. *delorts epic rant thusly saving the world from ridic*

  4. I love your list 🙂

    I actually liked Matched a lot, it was sweet.

    Eleanor & Park is next in my pile and can’t wait to read it, I hope I like it as much as you do. Everyone has said great things about it.

    I just bought The Knife of Never Letting Go. Haven’t started it yet but I know I’m going to love it. It’s just one of those books…

    • Sometimes I feel like the only person in the world who wasn’t into Matched. It makes me wonder if I should reread it. Oh, The Knife of Never Letting Go. Man, I love that book. And it’s so great because I usually love kissing and swoon and those things and this book is none of that, but it blew me away. The whole series is good.

  5. I adorned Eleanor & Park, and The Sky is Everywhere. I also loved This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers, I was surprised by all three of these books. I agree with you on Matched and City of Lost Souls, personally, I found Matched a little slow and boring. I think the Mortal Instruments should just have stopped after book three, I feel the two after and the one to come was unnecessary, without, I would have loved this series as I had after finishing book three, the others put a damper on it. Another book was Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick, I heard so much hype about how good it was, I felt really sad at how disappointed I was.

    • I totally agree with you about TMI stopping after three books. It’s not horrible, but they’ve lost steam. It’s so perfect that she’s ended the Infernal Devices books at three. And oh my goodness, I really think The Sky is Everywhere is the number one book I recommend to people. So gorgeous, so funny, so heartbreaking. She’s an incredible writer. Also, I totally loved This is Not A Test. It was my first Summers book and it was excellent.

  6. I loved Eleanor and Park and Pushing the Limits, too! I was pleasantly surprised with both of them, and they are some of my favorite books.

    And I also felt the same way with Hallowed. I loved Unearthly, but Hallowed was just meh for me. I haven’t read Boundless yet, but I will sometime probably.

Leave a Reply

