Revenge of The Girl With The Great Personality

Revenge of the Girl With the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

15703337Don’t mess with a girl with a great personality!

Everybody loves Lexi. She’s popular, smart, funny…but she’s never been one of those girls, the pretty ones who get all the attention from guys. And on top of that, her seven-year-old sister, Mackenzie, is a terror in a tiara, and part of a pageant scene where she gets praised for her beauty (with the help of fake hair and tons of makeup).

Lexi’s sick of it. She’s sick of being the girl who hears about kisses instead of getting them. She’s sick of being ignored by her longtime crush, Logan. She’s sick of being taken for granted by her pageant-obsessed mom. And she’s sick of having all her family’s money wasted on a phony pursuit of perfection.

The time has come for Lexi to step out from the sidelines. Girls without great personalities aren’t going to know what hit them. Because Lexi’s going to play the beauty game – and she’s in it to win it. (Goodreads)

The Story:

Lexi is liked by everyone around. She’s funny, smart, and that’s right, she has a great personality. She’s never been high-maintenance or too caught up in her appearance. She knows her little sis, Mackenzie, as a beauty pageant diva, is the reigning queen of the house. But Lexi gets fed up with blending into the backdrop. She wants her long-time crush to notice her. She wants to actually be noticed for something more than being a great friend. So, on a bet with one of her besties, Lexi agrees to a little makeover. She primps. She puts on makeup. She wears dresses, and boy does she get attention–not only from the cute guys on campus but possibly from Mr. Gigantic Crush himself, and suddenly this agreement she’s made to put in a little extra effort seems like a good plan.

My Thoughts:

This story has a good overall message. Lexi has to learn to have a certain balance between her looks and her willingness to let that be her guide in choosing friends and boyfriends. She has to come to terms with who she is and learn to like herself. I realize this is far easier said than done, especially in high school, so I think that’s why stories like these resonate with so many of us. It takes time for Lexi to come into her own and accept herself and her family (which isn’t easy because they are a big ‘ol mess). I struggled so much with her mother, who was obsessed–I mean crazy–when it came to pageants and pushing Mackenize to be a beauty queen. She was painfully blind to her older daughter who was wonderful, absolutely shining, with or without a makeover and it was hard to gloss over the damage she was willing to do to both girls in the name of pageants. And honestly, if Mackenzie hadn’t been a kid, I may have hated her (until the end).

This isn’t my favorite Eulberg book, but I liked it. I like the peek inside pageant life (or poking fun at it, really), I liked the characters and the transformation Lexi goes through. It was enjoyable on every count.

Crush Intensity: 4/5

Thank you to Netgalley and Point for giving me an e-galley of this book.

5 thoughts on “Revenge of The Girl With The Great Personality

  1. Agreed — It wasn’t totally amazing/one of my favs, but I really did like the overall message and her mother!!!! OMG. I HATED her. Wow. It’s just so hard to read someone who’s so self-centered and oblivious like that. I really loved Lexi’s great personality and I really enjoyed the way it ended with the romance! 🙂

  2. I was surprised that it wasn’t all cliche and sap. There was a decent amount of depth.

    I wasn’t sure how I felt about the resolution with Logan. The end seemed completely out of character, but I was pleased enough with the messages and other resolutions (and the fact she didn’t seek easy answers) that I didn’t let it bother me too much. [Ashley]

  3. This isn’t my favorite Eulberg book either. I actually had some problems with this one, and was a bit disappointed. I didn’t hate it, but it was far from love on my part.

  4. Yay! You know how much I enjoyed this one… I’m like B though… her mother?! Yikes! I loved the message, eventually, but kind of wish we had seen more of the boy. I think I just wanted kissy times!

Leave a Reply

