Requiem

Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver

RequiemThey have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed.

The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.But we have chosen a different road.And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.We are even free to choose the wrong thing. (Goodreads)

Recap:

It’s a world gone mad. The Resistance is all over the place. The Invalids are sprawled here and there and guess what? Love is still considered a nasty, infectious disease. The cure is still mandatory and the government, well, they just want to kill or imprison all those who haven’t taken it yet.

Lena’s family–her aunt, her uncle and her cousins–have all been turned out, their home and shop condemned, all under the shame and scrutiny of Lena’s escape to the Wild. Lena and her group of friends–including Julian and Alex, AWK-WARD!– are forging on, looking for safety, struggling to stay sane. Everywhere they turn camps and homes are burned out and more people are being killed. Rumors of troops hunting invalids continue to haunt them.

Hana is still in Portland. She’s engaged to the mayor, otherwise known as Sleeping With The Enemy. The wedding date is fast-approaching and while Hana is cured, she has a secret: she still dreams (if you recall, this is something that is supposed to go away after the cure). She’s wrapped up in memories of Lena and their childhood. As a Cured it’s definitely different for her–her emotions aren’t the same– but there’s still something about Hana, something from her old self, that seems to linger. Every corner she turns is another memory and in that weird, detached way the Cureds seem to “feel”, she wonders if Lena is alive.

Then there’s the old love triangle. Freedom and survival are obviously the main priority here, but Lena is struggling between Alex and Julian. Apparently lovin and kissing still matters, even when your life hangs in the balance (and when no one in a five mile radius wears deodorant. Um, yeah no thanks). She remembers the love she shared with Alex and a part of her fears he’s over it. At the same time, she has something new and hopeful in Julian. And it’s all complicated by the feelings she has for her own mother, for memories of Hana and her cousin, Grace. The misery, the pain and jealousy it all brings on often bring Lens to question what she’s learned about the sickness, about what love does to a person.

My Thoughts:

For me, this story hinges on three things:

1. Lena needs to make a choice. Does she want Alex (please say yes) or Julian? I have been an Alex fan all the way here, but this books definitely makes Julian shine. I won’t tell you her choice but yes, she does make one. I mean, sort of, yes, probably, I guess.

2. I needed something between Hana and Lena. Some acknowledgement that they shared a bond. And a confirmation that Hana would be alright on the path she’s chosen. I think Oliver delivers here.

3. A resolution- Ahem, here we have an issue. What can come of a world where cured and uncured fight it out? Where surgery is forced? Where those who deem to love are considered sick and are punished accordingly? In what world can these people, cured and uncured co-exist? Do you have the answers to these questions because I still do not. I got an idea, a glimmer that certain people won’t go down without a fight (no surprise there), but an actual resolution? Meh.

There were things I liked here. This book had a slow start, but I was engrossed, completely intrigued at how it would all play out. Hana’s story was fascinating. I found much of the stuff in the Wilds (other than the love stuff) to be a bit of a snooze because it was nothing new. Oliver’s writing was still beautiful, her characters rich, but this book could not reach the heights of Delirium for me. And that’s okay, I guess. As far as the love triangle, Lena truly had a tough choice, but most of the time I found her to be downright frustrating because she was so whiny. People are dying and she’s worried when another girl leans up against Alex (not that I wouldn’t have felt the same).

Crush Intensity: 3.5/5 I had such mixed feelings here. The end was not an end. If the story were to continue I could accept this and wait for the next book. But it’s THE END. In that aspect I felt let down. It doesn’t take away the things I love, but it left me feeling unsatisfied. This was the weakest book in the trilogy, in my opinion.

Thank you to Sandie at Teen Lit Rocks, one of my favorite bloggers around. She sent me her copy of Requiem just because she’s awesome like that.

2 thoughts on “Requiem

  1. You know what. I think I agree with you that this is my least favorite of the trilogy. I honestly thought it would be Pandemonium because, hello, no Alex, but seeing Alex like this in Requiem…. Not cool 😦
    I ALWAYS love the beauty of Lauren Oliver’s writing so I still liked a lot of the book in that respect and I actually really enjoyed Hana’s story a lot.
    While I understand why Lauren Oliver chose to leave the ending like that, I still wanted juuuust a bit more to tie SOMETHING up. There will be loose ends, I understand that, but I just needed a bit more wrap-up for a series so epic! Great review 😀

  2. I’ve been mulling over this one even after reading it months ago. Like the ending just pissed me off. What was that?! But… I dunno. Maybe it was a good ending? To show that things don’t always wrap up nicely like want. That there’s still work to be done? I think what made me mad was that it just stopped. There wasn’t a “and then we went to work” kind of ending.

    This whole series has been iffy for me. I LOVE Oliver’s writing – there’s no doubt in my mind that it’s beautiful – but the story has totally chewed me up and spit me out. Requiem was saved for me only by Hana’s story and Julian (because I ❤ him).

Leave a Reply

