Top Ten Tuesday- Beach Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TTT3WThis week we’re talking about beachy reads. Oh, yeah. It’s that time. Time to pull out the sunscreen, grab your towel and head to the sand for some surf, sun and, in my case, serious people watching (no joke, people do the weirdest things at the beach and they wear the most bizarre outfits. Or maybe that’s just So Cal? Or my good fortune?). There are certain books and certain authors that just feel like summer to me. Here are a few:

Moon and More1. Sarah Dessen- I specifically love The Truth About Forever, which takes place over the summer (as do a few of her other books). I also think this summer is a great time to pick up her new book, The Moon and More.  Dessen’s books always have that perfect blend of humor, issues, and swoony-perfect boys.  I look forward to each one like a big box of candy.

Abandon2. Meg Cabot- I’m specifically thinking of the Abandon series.  The last book, Awaken (which is awesome), comes out in July. This series has enough steam, enough intrigue and still that great Cabot humor all her books have, but they’re a little bit darker and edgier. As far as her fun, summery adult books, I’d try  The Queen of Babble series (so funny) and the Boy books.

Got Your Number3. Sophie Kinsella- I adore her. Her stories are so funny and light-hearted that they just feel like summer–know what I mean? Recently I loved I’ve Got Your Number, but she has a new book, Wedding Night, I’m looking forward to checking out this summer.

Book of Broken Hearts4. The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler- Oh, this book is practically perfect. It’s got romance, humor, summer, and family issues. It’s so beautifully done. Do not miss it.

51RXuykxZ+L._SL500_AA300_5. The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller- You guys, this book is about a popular girl who’s secretly a nerd. And she secretly becomes friends with a nerd boy who not only helps her embrace her inner geek but gets her involved in LARPing. Yes, LARPing. All of that is awesome but the romance, the adorable boy she crushes on (even though she has a football player boyfriend) is so sweet. This is a great summer read.

My Life Next Door6. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick- Man, I loved this book. It has this great, swoonworthy romance that takes place not only with the boy next door, but with the boy mom doesn’t want her to go out with. Fitzpatrick so perfectly nailed those moments of awkward sweetness and first love. I could read this one over and over again.

Summer I Turned Pretty7. The Summer books by Jenny Han- These are the ultimate summer reads. Belly and her family spend every summer at Cousins beach with the Fisher family and their boys, Conrad and Jeremiah. One summer, everything changes when the boys begin to see Belly as a young woman and no longer a little girl. I love, love, love Han’s writing style, the moments she captures that seem so simple and effortless. These are books I read every single summer.

Lola8. Stephanie Perkins- There’s something about new romance and kissing that makes me think of summer. I have no idea why since I never had a new romance or first kiss that occurred over the summer (my shyness always won out), but that’s just how my brain works. Anna and The French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door are happy, sweet, charming books that are good anytime, but they bring a smile to your face that seems perfect for those lazy days on the sand.

Also Known As9. Also Known As by Robin Benway- This book is plain funny. And witty. And so fabulously fun. It has that quirky, happy feeling that screams summer (even if it takes place during Fall).

Second Chance Summer10. Morgan Matson- I really liked Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour (road trip book!) and am planning on reading her other book, Second Chance Summer, this summer. Her books feel like beach reads to me. I can’t explain it.

11. Sequel Catch Ups- Summer is a great time to catch up on the series I’ve fallen behind on. I’m thinking of the Chemical Garden books, the Nightshade books, The Body Finder books, and many others. Also, for those of you who loved Shadow and Bone, the sequel, Siege and Storm,  just came out. Catch up on that one; it’s fabulous!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Beach Reads

    • Oh, Jase. When he admits to hammering his finger at the hardware store because he’s so lost in thought about the previous night, I think I died a little (in a good way). Love him. I just finished The Moon and More a couple of days ago and it was very cute.

Leave a Reply

