The Selective Collective: Two Tickets to Paradise


SCnewbanner

Welcome to The Selective Collective. Together with our friends at The Book Addict’s Guide, Gone Pecan, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks, we’ll be exploring a new release in its entirety, from review to author spotlight, to a roundtable chat, among other fun things.

This week we’re discussing Ink by Amanda Sun. Ink

On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they’ll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive. (Goodreads)

This book takes you all the way to Japan. And Amanda Sun immerses you in that world–the language, the customs,  the adjustments of an American girl just trying to fit in. For me, having lived in beautiful Southern California all of my life, I realized that this book–and many like it–have me itching to experience life in other countries. Now, I’m not saying I’d live anywhere else (ok, I’d probably live in England), but I’d love to become engrossed in another culture, another way of life, even if only for a day or two. And since money is limited (surprisingly, being a stay at home mom does not pay well), books are the best way for me to travel.

So, take a tour with me around the world!

PARIS

parisDon’t lie. You know everyone wants to go here first! Croissants and french romance aren’t fitting into your schedule? Try these reads and live vicariously through their MCs:

Anna CoverAnna and the French Kiss
by Stephanie Perkins

Just One DayJust One Day by Gayle Forman

PRAGUE


Prague sounds intriguing and mysterious–like adventure would be lurking around every corner. Or maybe it’s just these books…

Daughter of Smoke and BoneDaughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Book of Blood and ShadowThe Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

LONDON

LondonSeriously, this is my dream destination. Alas, it’s not happening anytime soon, so I’m thankful for books set there.

Falling in loveFalling in Love With English Boys by Melissa Jensen

Meant to BeMeant to Be by Lauren Morrill

SCOTLAND

ScotlandThe accents alone give me reason to visit this place. If this country is calling to you try:

13 Little Blue EnvelopesThirteen Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

SOUTH AMERICA

South AmericaWish you were here. And me. Wish I was there. You can go, or you can read this:

WanderloveWanderlove by Kristen Hubbard

AUSTRALIA

AustraliaAustralia seems like an amazing place with so much scenery I wouldn’t know where to start. For now I’ll trust one of the greatest YA authors around, Melina Marchetta, to give me a taste of life there.

Jellicoe RoadJellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Saving FrancescaSaving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

Thanks for stopping by! Please be sure to visit my blogging partners in The Selective Collective and check out the goodies they have in store:

The Book Addict’s Guide-Casting Call

Gone Pecan-Author Interview & Giveaway

The Grown Up YA- Review
Teen Lit Rocks- Roundtable Q&A

Special thanks to Harlequin Teen for providing review copies of Ink. 

9 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: Two Tickets to Paradise

  1. I want to go to all of these places!!! I think if I had to choose, I’d go with Scotland. This is a new fantasy travel destination, but there’s just something that seems to be pulling me towards it! That or Prague; after reading The Book of Blood and Shadow I WANTED to go there! Great idea for the freebie!

  2. And let’s not forget Hogwarts is in Scotland😉 I definitely want to take the Harry Potter train trip with my kids when they’re a bit older. And doesn’t Prague sound amazing? I wish we had the budget to travel internationally more often.

  3. Oh how I want to go to London. ONE DAY LADIES. Maybe we should plan on an SC international trip? If I’m going to dream it might as well be big! Great choices! I’ve read several of these and the rest are def on my TBR list. ~ K

  4. Love your choices!! There are sooo many good books recently that have become favorites of mine that are set overseas… And I never would have thought I would have fallen in love with them in such an unfamiliar setting!

  5. This was a great idea. If I had tons of money I would travel all over the world, so in the meantime I will read some of the books from your list that I haven’t read yet. These books were all great choices. One place I dream of going to is Italy. I think Heist Society includes Italy as one of the places they go to right? I would love to read more books set there.

Leave a Reply

