Top Ten Tuesday- Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TTT3W

This week we’re talkin ’bout books to film. I know, I know. Cringe.
The elephant in the room (Twilight). Everyone is going to talk about the gigantic ball of SUCK that movie was–and, hello, I wholeheartedly agree–but I really want to focus on the versions I enjoyed. There are a few.

Atticus1. To Kill a Mockingbird- In my mind, books and films do not get better than this one. Gregory Peck owned Atticus Finch and everything–every single detail–was perfect. The filmmakers took out what was necessary to move the film along and kept to the heart of the story.

Bridget Jones2. Bridget Jones’ Diary- Renee Zellweger nailed darling Bridget. That movie was so perfectly cast, so hilarious, so faithful to those characters. Word to the wise, stick with the first film. The sequel, The Edge of Reason, despite Colin Firth’s dishiness, is suckville.

R&J3. Baz Luhrman’s Romeo and Juliet- Lordy, I’m a sucker for anyone who plays Romeo. And I was already a sucker for Leo. Put those two together and it’s a feast for the eyes. I’ve always been a huge fan of this play and also a fan of the Franco Zeffirelli film version, but this movie–the imagery, the cast, the music, everything–really stole my heart. I can’t wait for my girls to be old enough to watch it (and cry) with me.

P&P movie4. Pride and Prejudice- I favor the mini series, complete with Darcy jumping in a lake (stop being so freaking handsome, Colin Firth! OK, I’m totally kidding. DON’T EVER STOP!), but I think the Joe Wright version is lovely as well.  Both capture the beauty of Austen, including the starts and stops of one of the best, most romantic couples in all of literature.

Lion witch wardrobe5. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe- Surprisingly, I did not read these books as a child. I went to a Christian school where that’s what they really, really pushed us to dive into, so I never wanted to pick it up. As an adult, I read this series with my daughter and fell in love. The first film was absolutely magical. The scene where Lucy meets Mr. Tumnus? Priceless.

Voyage of the Dawn Treader6. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader- Ah, this was my favorite book and film (thus far) in The Chronicles of Narnia series. And not just because of Ben Barnes. I loved the story and I thought they did a particularly good job creating the wonderful images I had in my head.

The Kite Runner7. The Kite Runner- Now, nothing cam compare to the beauty of this book, but this movie was well-done. I sobbed my eyes out, but it was worth it.

Lincoln8. Lincoln- It may surprise you to know that I love Lincoln and really enjoyed Team of Rivals, the book Steven Spielberg’s movie was based on. History books can be dry, but I thought both the book and the movie were so interesting and gave such insight into this great man who changed our nation.

Willy Wonka9. Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory- I’m such a sucker for this book and for the original film I grew up watching. It may be corny and lacking in the special effects department, but it will always have my heart.

Harry P10. Every Single Harry Potter Movie- I probably favor The Order of the Phoenix, The Half Blood Prince and The Deathly Hallows Part 2, but seriously, it’s like choosing a favorite child. They’re all amazing and so fantastically done.  But you knew that already.

Gatsby11. The Great Gatsby- Now, I really enjoyed this gorgeous, visually stunning movie. I didn’t fall all over myself over it, but I thought it was well-done, if not a teensy bit long. Leo, of course, was fantastic.

Katniss Cinna12. The Hunger Games- Surprise surprise. I think they could have done a better job at explaining the games in the beginning (the lottery, etc), but otherwise this movie rocked it. And Lenny Kravitz as Cinna? Holla! I can’t wait for the next installments.

Are you waiting for me to list The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit? Man, I LOVE those movies (esp LOTR) but I’ve never read the books! If I had, I’m pretty certain they’d be on this list.

 

Happy Tuesday!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Movie Adaptations

  1. Yay, happy to see another person with Willy Wonka! Gene Wilder is just perfect in that movie.
    Of course I love HP & THG! Those are pretty obvious!
    I totally forgot about To Kill a Mockingbird!! Great call 🙂

  2. I have so many things to say. Haha.

    Firstly, have you ever read about what Roald Dahl thought of Gene Wilder’s performance? He was so mad! He hated it! He said Wilder was “pretentious and bouncy,” which is a hilarious thing to say, I think.
    That being said, *I* love the movie.

    My second comment is only a “Yes!” — and a bit of bragging. I, too, love Luhrman’s “Romeo + Juliet.” And I just scored the soundtrack at a thrift store for a buck! Love deals! (Broke & bookish, indeed. 😉 )

    Last thing: Did you see the thing about the new giant Colin Firth statue?:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2013/jul/08/mr-darcy-statue-pride-and-prejudice?CMP=SOCxx2I2

    Nice post!

  3. Haha. Yes, chosing a favorite HP is like chosing a favorite child. Although I do kind of have a favorite 🙂 But I love them all!

    And seriously, Colin Firth looks postively dreamy in that photo!

  4. YES! Narnia for the win! I think Voyage of the Dawn Treader is one of my least favorite of the series, but I did love the movie. Of course, none of them trump just how magical LWW was! Anywho.. I could go on about Narnia for hours… I won’t though! Also, Romeo and Juliet… Oh that version was perfect. I loved it oh so much!

  5. To Kill A Mockingbird WAS amazing! I saw the version of Pride and Prejudice that you have up there, but I preferred the Pride and Prejudice BBC mini series. I think it’s because I love the actor who played Darcy! You can see it here if you’re interested: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vbNpZCfWAQ
    All of the HP movies were amazing–I don’t think I can choose a favorite! I’ve yet to see The Great Gatsby… I’m working on reading it. And The Hunger Games… I’ve been waiting for over half a year to see that movie. It’s THAT popular at my library!!!

Leave a Reply

