Top Ten Tuesday- Things That Make Me Not Pick Up a Book

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TTT3WThis week we’re talking about things that make me run from certain books like a startled fawn.  There are only a few, but man, they are serious business:

 

No Vampires1. Vampires– Now, I liked Twilight, Blue Bloods and The Mortal Instruments (though MI aren’t actually about vampires), but generally I think this genre is sooooooooo annoyingly emo and overdone. And the covers, they are terrible, terrible things.

 

Jacob2.  Wolves– Yeah, pretty much everything I said in number 1, only add this: I despise Jacob Black. The only wolf book I’ve ever loved was Nightshade and even there I still haven’t gotten past the first book.

 

Tinkerbell3. Faeries- OMG, there is nothing I hate more than faeries.  I can’t explain it. Oh, except that the whole idea is LAME!

 

Vampire Academy4. Bitchy Girls- I generally don’t like books with unlikable MC’s. There are times when an anti-hero can be compelling or when that rough exterior is hiding a deeper, kinder person underneath. But generally I just don’t like mean people and I don’t root for them.  And I hate girls like Rose from The Vampire Academy.  Too bitchy, too arrogant, too stupidly annoying.

 

Abuse5. Graphic Abuse- I have a very hard time with any kind of violence or sexual abuse, of course, especially if it’s directed at children and teens. I’m not opposed to it being a part of the back story, but I don’t want details.

 

images6. Any Classics Turned Paranormal- I’m thinking Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer, Pride & Prejudice and Zombies… I’m sure as individual stories they’re fun, but the wave of books it seems to spawn (I once saw Little Vampire Women….no joke) just became too much.

 

7. Just Paranormal Stuff in General- Again, there are paranormal books I enjoy, but generally I don’t want to know if you see ghosts or if you can read someone’s mind or have a cousin who’s a Greek God who now wants to kill you. It’s just not my thing unless it’s extremely well-done (The Body Finder, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, The Percy Jackson Books, and Shift are all excellent choices I loved).

images

I know, it’s not fair. I used this one already but look. They’re SO BAD.

8. Really, REALLY bad covers- I think we’re grading on a curve here since in YA bad covers are pretty much standard. But some, dear me, I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. I’m not sure why it’s a prerequisite to have headless people, or worse, sneering emo girls and blooming flowers (thank you, Twilight, for reals) but someone needs to stop this madness. Just a plain cover with words would be fine. I’d take that over the monstrosities that stare out at me from the shelves at B&N.

 

Happy Tuesday!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Things That Make Me Not Pick Up a Book

  1. i really hate that vampire academy cover. she looks like Angelina Jolie. ugh. and i agree with everything else here. 🙂

  2. I haven’t been able to get into The Vampire Academy books… mainly because it just seems blaaaaahhhh. And the covers? Double blaaaaahhh! I do love faeries though… not like Tinkerbell, but the darker kind that are basically human sized. However, I can see how they would be a huge turn-off. And wolves? Yeah, no. Just… ick.

  3. I can’t do fairy books either. I’ve tried a few times and with the exception of Tiger Lily (and Tinkerbell), I haven’t enjoyed almost all of the ones I’ve read.
    I hate to admit it, but I DO judge books by their covers! I have a really hard time picking up a bad cover because for some reason it makes me believe the book is bad.
    (Lots of VA hating going on here, Tee hahaha!)

  4. I usually like fairy books, but I guess it depends on the type of fairies. I really like the Tinkerbell movies 😀 I just read The Body Finder a few days ago, and I really enjoyed that one! It made me believe that there were good paranormal books out there if I search hard enough!

  5. I like faeries only as a subset of Fae, as in the folk that live under the hill, populated by beautiful monsters and baby-snatchers–well developed parts of a mythology, not twinkly girls in short dresses.

    I agree with you on 5 and 6. I read Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies out of curiosity. It was 95% the original text, with zombie hunting replacing dancing for the most part. Why!?

  6. I haven’t read VA, but so many people say I should. I’m a bit more apprehensive now if Rose is kind of bitchy. I need to like the MC, and I’m wondering if Rose will just piss me off.

    And seriously, faeries! They are scary, and like to make people squirm. Not a fan.

    • I mean, so many people love the VA books–so maybe it’s just me. But Rose grates on me. You should try the first book so we can compare notes.

Leave a Reply

