Psyched

I think it’s so weird that summer is almost over (in our house anyway, where my children start school in early August). I prefer to have everyone home (my hubby is a teacher so he’s home too), hanging out, having Wii competitions, eating ice cream, doing the beach thing, etc. The other thing we love to do? Go to the movies. Popcorn, candy, free air conditioning–I love it all. And I’m super-psyched for a few movies coming out this year:

The Sea of Monsters, August 7

You guys, I love the Percy Jackson series. Those books are so great and I want Percy to be my son. The first movie was cute (not amazing, but fun) and I think the second looks promising. It’s been a while since I’ve picked up this series, so all of the stories and details sort of meld together in my mind. In the case of books to film, I think this comes in handy because then I’m not obsessing over details changed or left out but able to better enjoy the basic story. I’m totally taking my kiddos to this one.

Austenland, August 16 (NY and LA)

Oh, my, Austenland is one of my absolute favorite books. I read it at least once a year, if not more. And now there’s a movie. Suuuuuure, it’s only showing in LA and NY. I mean, it really sucks that I’ll have to get dressed up cute and head to Los Angeles–where I’ll obviously have to have dinner and cocktails somewhere really fabulous with my girlfriends instead of driving thru Chick Fil a in a mad dash to make it to the theater on time. Poor me. I think this one will be an adorable, girly movie.

City of Bones, August 23

So yeah, I’m fairly certain this movie will absolutely BLOW, which is what happens with most beloved books, especially, especially when they have freaky paranormal business going on. But I am still totally going to see this with some of the girls from my book club (my husband is forever grateful they saved him). I think the preview looks good; I like the casting. I mean, could there BE a more perfect Simon? I think not. And Jamie Campbell Bower has such a supremely awesome speaking voice (I have a weird thing with voices. Ask my friends). His voice is so good that I promise to ignore the fact that I don’t understand what’s going on with his hair here. And Jonathan Rhys Meyers as Valentine. HENRY THE FREAKING EIGHTH (Yes, The Tudors is one of my all-time favorite shows). So good, bad or whatever, I’ll be there opening weekend. And if I’m with my book club I will have had a cocktail, maybe two. Look out.

Catching Fire, November 22

OK, so this one is a long way away, but holy crap, do you SEE the display of badassery going on here? And it’s like, only the first third of the book! I’m beyond excited for this one. I can’t wait to see Finnick, to see the arena, to watch it all fall apart is this amazingly spectacular way. This one’s gonna be epic.

There are so many more in production right now that I can’t wait to see clips from (Divergent, anyone?). Or more casting news on films like The Giver, The Book Thief, The Fault in Our Stars, If I Stay. There are so many great (hopefully) YA Adaptations to look forward to!

7 thoughts on “Psyched

  1. WHY DID YOU POST THESE?! Now I want to see all the movies now!!! I seriously can’t wait to discuss everything with you guys. I should be reading Austenland this weekend so look for emails next week. 😛 ~k

  2. Haha. I love JCB’s voice, too. And I have a thing about voices as well. I’m really excited for Austenland (although I still need to read the book) and City of Bones. I hope CoB doens’t blow, though.

  3. Oh man this makes me so excited for the upcoming months!!!! Yay!!! Although I’m really sad that Austenland isn’t going to be out nationally… boo!

  4. I got a chance to go to a screening of Austenland last week – absolutely AMAZING. You definitely won’t be disappointed. Keri Russell is absolute perfection.

Leave a Reply

