Invisible

Invisible (Awkward #2) by Marni Bates

InvisibleJane Smith has survived three years of high school without making a single enemy, all by keeping a low profile. Not even her three best friends, Kenzie, Corey and Isobel, can say the same. But with Corey dating the lead singer from ReadySet and Kenzie in a relationship too, being invisible tends to be lonely. But now she’s written an article for her school newspaper that has accidentally snagged the attention of some celebrities. Turns out, people get really upset when their innermost secrets are splashed all over the front page. And new her well-ordered life is being blasted to hell, with results that are wildly unexpected. (Goodreads)

The Story:

Jane is the bestie of internet phenom Kenzie Wells. Her other best buddy is dating the lead singer of one of the hottest bands around. And Jane? Well, she can barely get an ounce of respect as a writer for the school paper. If you haven’t already guessed it, Jane is totally invisible, easily forgotten, and often-overlooked by most of the people around her. When she–in a great moment where she stands up for the little guy–gets into a heated, physical contact with one of the school’s stud athletes, you’d think it would earn her some respect, but instead it just gets her more hate and a huge headache (and a black eye. From a guy. I’m not joking). To make matters worse, Jane has to prove herself with a big story for the paper and she’s being forced to work with their very cute photographer, Scott. Jane doesn’t like Scott and she makes it pretty clear.

My Thoughts:

I absolutely adored the first book in this series, Awkward.  As a result, I was really looking forward to reading the next book and was excited about getting to know Jane.  Honestly though, I didn’t love it. Oh, it had some cute moments, don’t get me wrong, but I felt somewhat let down. I was never able to get into Jane. I thought her relationship with Kenzie seemed almost like an afterthought (they barely hung out or talked) and I really struggled with the main conflict at the beginning of the story. Jane is punched in the face by a star athlete and while maybe the school realistically might try not to make a big deal about it, I find it hard to believe she wouldn’t (I mean, she stood up to him; she hit him too. I didn’t understand how she could just not take it further with her parents or his,etc). All that being said, I think my lack of connection with Jane made it so that I really couldn’t get into this story.

Crush Intensity: 2.0/5 I like many of the other characters and overall I enjoy Bates’s writing, but this one wasn’t for me.

Sincere thanks to Kensington Teen and to Netgalley for allowing me to read an e-galley of Invisible in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Invisible

  1. Oh I know, I was let down with this book, too. I adored Awkward, and liked Decked with Holly. But this one I just couldn’t buy all the way. And I wasn’t a fan for Scott (is that his name?). I couldn’t understand why Jane would like him. And I agree about how it was weird with the fight at the beginning of the novel. She was PUNCHED in the face!!

Leave a Reply

