Top Ten Tuesday- Top ________ Settings

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TTT3WThis week we’re talking about our favorite books set in _____________ setting. That’s right. I get to decide which setting I prefer. I know the suspense is killing you. It’s eating you alive. You can barely stand it.

What could I possibly choose?

Honestly, since I’m such a fan of contemporary settings (and where do we go with that? Boarding school, the beach…that’s all I’ve got), this was tough for me. Then, while driving my kids to school this morning, I had an epiphany. Cue the anger’s choir.

I’ll discuss books set in a mythical/fantasy world. OK, so, maybe it’s not a real epiphany-type epiphany, but I was able to think of several and I rarely discuss fantasy books. So, humor me.

Top Ten YA Books Set in a Fantasy/ Mythical World (But aren’t dystopias)

City of Bones1.  The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare- Well, yeah. I specifically love the first three the most. After that, they get a bit too repetitive, but Jace always reels me back in.

Clockwork Angel2. The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare- Love these, love Will.

Abandon3. The Abandon series by Meg Cabot- Two words: sexy kissing

Shadow and Bone4. The Grisha series by Leigh Bardugo- Such fabulous writing and world building. I love getting immersed in this story.

Shatter Me5. The Shatter Me books by Tahereh Mafi- I love everything about these and I’ve finally gotten over my guilty crush on Warner. Now there’s no guilt; I just love him.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone6. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor- So beautifully written, so inventive. Taylor overlaps two stories and two worlds– one that seems like a normal, everyday existence and one that is the stuff crazy dreams and nightmare are made of–seamlessly.

Finnikin of the Rock7. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta- I have to be honest, even though I’m a die-hard Marchetta fan, this one didn’t sound appealing to me because it’s a fantasy. Holy cow, was I ever wrong! It’s phenomenal, as all her books are.

Knife of Never Letting Go8. The Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness- I’m not really sure if these are dystopic, or science fiction or fantasy or what the what, I just know I LOVE them. Seriously, one of the all-time favorite series.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban9. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling- Was there any doubt?

Entwined 210. Entwined by Heather Dixon- What a fabulous retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. I wish she’d write more books.

Enchanted11. Enchanted by Alethea Kontis- I have such a thing for fairy tales and this book spins a few together quite beautifully while maintaining its own identity. I was smiling the entire time I read it.

lion, witch, wardrobe12. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis- The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is my personal favorite, but it’s neck and neck with The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. These are wonderful stories and while they’re aimed at children, I became completely engrossed in Narnia.

Would you look at this cover? It's freaking creepy.  And perfect.

13. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs- I thought this would be really creepy and it wasn’t. Instead, it was sort of magical.

Ella Enchanted

14. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine- Levine is a fantastic storyteller and Ella is my favorite of her novels thus far (though I have more to read!).

The Lightning Thief15. The Percy Jackson series  by Rick Riordin- So stinking fun, I could read these over and over again.

Yeah, so I went a little over ten. Sorry.

Happy Tuesday!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Top ________ Settings

  1. I’m pretty sure your list just described an entire shelf on my bookshelf! Sooooo many good titles here! I love worlds that are fantasy… but still kind of reality… but not dystopia or alternate universe… great picks my friend!

  2. Haha just a bit over 10 🙂 Shadow and Bone and Daughter of Smoke and Bone are my two personal favorites from the list! And of COURSE Harry Potter. I really want to read Entwined! I think I have a copy.

  3. I’ve read most of the books you’ve listed and loved them all so I think I’ll have to check out the few that I haven’t read (such as Entwined.) Great list!

  4. i loved that you couldn’t stop. and of course, all of these are fantastic. i really wanna read miss peregrine. did you know that Ransom Riggs & Tereheh Mafi are recently engaged? how cute is that? i am rereading percy jackson and city of bones right now. busy girl, i am.

  5. I had a hard time thinking of a setting for this week’s TTT as well. I love your topic, though. City of Bones and TID are amazing – I love those settings so much. And HP! I really need to read Entwined. It’s been on my list forever. And the cover is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

