Dead Silence

Dead Silence (The Body Finder #4) by Kimberly Derting

Dead SilenceViolet thought she’d made peace with her unique ability to sense the echoes of the dead and the imprints that cling to their killers…that is until she acquired an imprint of her own. Forced to carry a reminder of the horrible events of her kidnapping, Violet is more determined than ever to lead a normal life. However, the people who run the special investigative team Violet works for have no intention of letting her go.

When someone close to Violet becomes a suspect in a horrific murder, she finds herself pulled into a deadly hunt for a madman with an army of devoted followers. Violet has survived dangerous situations before, but she quickly discovers that protecting those closest to her is far more difficult than protecting herself. (Goodreads)

The Story:

If you have not read the first THREE books in The Body Finder series, let me level with you. You are missing some serious hotness in the form of one Jay Heaton. And, um, some super-awesomeness in our heroine, Violet Ambrose. These books have it all: romance, good storytelling, creepiness. You should definitely read them–just start with book one, please.

For those in the know regarding this series, let’s get to crushing on Jay discussing the latest book.

In Dead Silence, Violet’s two worlds–her “normal life” with her friends and boyfriend and her paranormal life working with Sara and Rafe–converge. Rafe and Gemma enroll at Violet’s school, leading to many, many questions by Chelsea (Vi’s BFF) and to multiple awkward situations and moments of tension considering Rafe has a thing for Vi and Vi loves Jay (but is strangely drawn to Rafe because of this weird connection they have).  Chelsea is onto Violet. She knows she’s always hiding something, always lying. So Violet does something unexpected: she tells Chelsea the truth about her ability, about who she works with, the basics. This concerns Jay, who, as the Most Perfect Best Friend Turned Boyfriend EVER, is always worried about keeping Violet safe.

Now, of course, there’s a murder. (I know. There are a lot of dead people around this girl). This particular murder is gruesome because it involves an entire family. In fact, I had a hard time reading some of the details. At the same time, Derting continues to let us in the killer’s mind throughout the book while keeping his identity under wraps. I love that she does this because it only adds to the suspense and overall creep factor.

One of the big problems comes in when someone Violet knows becomes a suspect. This makes the murders all the more personal to her. And as she goes her normal Nancy Drew journey –complete with bad decisions and unneccessary risks–she puts not only herself, but those she loves, in danger.

My Thoughts:

I had mixed feelings about this one. I love this series. I love Violet and I love Jay. And, as mentioned, I love the tension and suspense as we read the thoughts of the serial killers.

I dislike the fact that Violet–in her mind, at least–jumps back and forth between Rafe and Jay. First, because Jay is awesome and there is no believable way that anyone would choose Rafe over him (did I just piss off the Team Rafe? I’m sorry). I don’t mean to say that Rafe isn’t a good guy, but I feel that Derting has spent so much time portraying Violet and Jay as a couple really in love with a commitment and a bond different from your average high school relationship (though not perfect, of course) that I find it hard to believe that one moment Violet is head over heels for Jay and the next sucked into Rafe and his professions of love (ish) feelings. I have to be honest. That irked me on behalf of Jay (and Violet. Get a grip, girl!)

I also struggle with Violet’s parents, who feel nonexistent at this point. This series and the relationships in it–aside from the paranormal thing–has always felt very authentic to me. Now, we barely see her mom and dad and that just doesn’t seem right. It doesn’t seem like a normal teenager’s life and it doesn’t seem true to the Ambrose family in particular.

Overall, I still enjoyed the book and the tension, but this wasn’t my favorite in the series. I love the characters, and I love Violet’s gift and the way Derting uses Violet’s weaknesses as well as her strengths to make her shine, and fortunately that still rang true.

Crush Intensity: 3.75/5

Source: I checked this one out at the library!

 

Leave a Reply

