Top Ten Tuesday- Best Sequels Evah!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TTT3W

ZOMG, I love this week’s topic, Top Ten Best Sequels Ever. I will try my hardest not to squeal.

Siege and Storm1. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha series)- Oh, Shadow and Bone was phenomenal and it was hard to imagine that any sequel could live up to that…but this was a pretty stellar book. I should probably review it. It’s just that I loved it so much I’ve actually had a difficult time putting into words. All I’m coming up with is OMG OMG OMG OMG, so you know, that’s cool but not really well crafted. I’ll get there though.

 

Forever Princess2. Any of The Princess Diaries sequels by Meg Cabot- I especially love Princess in Love (because you guys,  he made her a computer program) and Forever Princess (seriously a perfect ending to the series). Have you read this series because if not you are missing out on some awesomely funny, witty, Michael Moscovitz-y perfection.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince3. Any of the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling- I love them all, but I especially adored The Prisoner of Azkaban and The Half Blood Price, But seriously, they’re all pretty freaking awesome and they all build upon each other.

 

Unravel Me4. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi (The Shatter Me series)- Chapter 62. That’s all I’m sayin. Read it and have a ciggy.

 

Catching Fire5. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games Trilogy)- For all the griping there is about Mockingjay, WOW was Catching Fire amazing. It was my favorite in the series.

Monsters of Men6. Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking Trilogy)- What an amazing ending to a stellar series. These books rocked me, made me fist pump and cry like a baby. Read them, read them, read them.

Where She Went7. Where She Went by Gayle Forman- I loved the first book, If I Stay, but I think I actually love book two even more. Hearing the story from Adam’s POV made me love him–and Mia– all the more. This is easily one of my all-time favorite books.

We'll Always Have Summer8. The Summer Books by Jenny Han- I loved both sequels to The Summer I Turned Pretty, but the last one, We’ll Always Have Summer, especially got to me. Again, reading portions from Conrad’s POV absolutely slayed me (but in the best way possible).

Insurgent9. Insurgent by Veronica Roth- By the time I read this I’d heard there were some people who felt let down here. Perhaps this lowered my expectations. Either way, I was so into this book. I really loved the opportunity to fully see Tris as Divergent–seeing her strengths in all areas, even when she seemed stupidly self sacrificial– and I loved watching the struggles she and Four faced as a couple. And okay, they had some super-hot kissing scenes.

The Elite10. The Elite by Kiera Cass- Maxon, America and Aspen all annoyed the crud out of me here, but man I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. And that’s all I need really, to love a book so much I can’t stand to close the cover.

 

ruby oliver11. The Ruby Oliver books- Love them because they make me laugh. End of story.

 

The Lightning Thief12. All of the Percy Jackson sequels- These are the cutest stinking books ever. The concepts, the problems, the mythology never got old to me. I loved Percy and I wanted him to be my son.

Happy Tuesday!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Best Sequels Evah!

  1. I totally agree with Monsters of Men and Unravel Me. I don’t even like Warner, but that chapter. Omg. Sexy. I haven’t read The Elite yet, but I’m glad to see it made your list! I have high hopes for that book.

    • What is this crazy “I don’t even like Warner” business???? 🙂 I seriously love him, even in the first book (which made me feel sort of bad). He’s a sexy beast. But then again, so is Adam. Poor, poor Juliette, surrounded by two awesomely hot guys fighting for her attention.

  2. Unravel Me, Where She Went and Insurgent are all fantastic – also all on my list. 🙂

    I actually found that I *HATED* The Elite. I loved the first book and the novella, but I found everyone’s actions to be so despicable in the second book that I wanted to throw it across the room. I’m hoping the series is redeemed for me with the third one.

    My TTT>

  3. Yes, yes, all the Percy Jackson books are soo stinking cute. I almost included them on my TTT, but I couldn’t decide which sequel to include. I should have included the whole series like you!

    And Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite HP book, too! I love them all, but HP3 is so special in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

