The Selective Collective: Giveaway and Interview with Rainbow Rowell


SCnewbannerWelcome to The Selective Collective. Together with our friends at The Book Addict’s Guide, Gone Pecan, The Grown Up YA and Teen Lit Rocks, we’ll be exploring a new release in its entirety, from review to author spotlight, to a roundtable chat, among other fun things.

This week we’re discussing Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Can we all just sigh? The SC ladies love us some Rainbow. And I got to interview her (insert fangirly squeal right about here).

FangirlCath is a Simon Snow fan.Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind? (Goodreads)

Interview with Rainbow Rowell

YA CrushSince we’re all “Fangirls” of your work, we know you love seeing Eleanor & Park fanart, and we can only imagine how much there will be for “Fangirl” as well. But how do you feel about Eleanor & Park fics? We checked, and there aren’t any on FF.net, but would that be harder for you to engage with than the art?

Rainbow: I’ve seen a few fics for Fangirl and Eleanor & Park on Tumblr, and it’s always thrilling. The idea that people read my books and are then inspired to make art of their own. MINDBLOWING.
 
I try to keep track of the art. (You can check out my E&P and Fangirl boards on Pinterest.) But I don’t let myself read the fanfiction; I’m not quite done with my characters, so I want to keep my headcanon separate from other people’s story ideas and dialogue.

YA Crush: We see a trend: Levi, like Lincoln and Park, is this amazing, handsome Nebraska boy who knows how to treat a woman. Is your goal to make young girls want to move to Nebraska to meet guys like that? Seriously though, do you feel committed to writing stories about your home State, or is your next novel set further afield?

Rainbow: Yes! Come to Nebraska! Our men are lovely, and our streets are paved with corn!
 
I do like to write about Nebraska. My next book, Landline, is my first book that’s set anywhere else — Los Angeles — but even that book has scenes in Nebraska.
 
I think I write about Nebraska, and specifically Omaha, because it’s what I know. And also because it’s exciting for people around here to see our hometown represented in fiction. It doesn’t happen for us very often.
 
Sometimes people ask me if Nebraska guys are as good as I make them out to be. And all I can say is, I’m surrounded by lovely people, men and women. And that this a very unpretentious, warm place to live.

YA Crush:I, personally, found Levi to be adorably crushworthy (so cute that I couldn’t contain myself and had to send you a message about him via Twitter!). Tell us some of your literary crushes.
Rainbow: Thank you! Hmm … I’m going to expand “literary” to “fictional” and say Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer because he wears his heart on his sleeve, Pacey Witter from Dawson’s Creek (for similar reasons), Jamie Fraser from Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series because he’s honorable and devoted, and Hank McCoy from the X-Men because he’s kind and funny.
YA Crush:  Oh, yes Jamie from Outlander. That man is beautiful perfection. Also, I was always partial to Pacey. He was the obvious choice for Joey.
YA Crush: Your books so perfectly capture adolescence: the romance, the conflicts, the humor, and the fact that nothing is every perfect. What was Teenage Rainbow like?
 
Rainbow: Oh, thank you! That’s a really hard question to answer. I remember I was really certain of things. Like, I had opinions about everything, and I was so sure of them. I thought everything was black and white, and could never walk away from an argument. Sometimes I look back and feel bad about how judgmental I was. But other times I think that it helped keep me out of the trouble — that overdeveloped sense of right and wrong. There are worse things to be obsessed with than justice.
YA Crush: Rainbow, thank you so much for taking the time to talk to us! We all love your books and are excited to see what’s coming from you in the future.

Please be sure to visit my blogging partners in The Selective Collective and check out the great things they have in store:

The Book Addict’s Guide- Cath’s TBR List

Gone Pecan- Roundtable

The Grown Up YA- Review

Teen Lit Rocks-Page to Screen

The Giveaway:

You want to read this book, trust me. And St. Martin’s Press wants to give one lucky winner a copy.  All you have to do is leave a comment with your e-mail and tell us what you fangirl over. YA books are obvious, but be more specific: Is it Draco Malfroy or Peeta or some other character? Or maybe it’s something unrelated to YA books. Maybe you’re a crazy Star Wars fan (me too!) or a Dr. Who nut. Maybe you have a Coke bottle collection. Tell me about it below!

This contest is open until 9pm PST on Wednesday, October 2. After that time we will randomly choose a winner and notify you via e-mail. You will have 48 hours to respond before the next winner is chosen. US residents only please.

Good luck!

Sincere thanks to St. Martin’s Press for sending review copies of Fangirl to all of The Selective Collective.

10 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: Giveaway and Interview with Rainbow Rowell

  1. great interview! i feel like a total tool for being obsessed with this writer & her books, but i just can’t help myself.

  2. I fangirl over everything Tina Fey. I basically have 30 Rock on all the time at my house and quote her at awkward times. Her books, movies, episodes of SNL from the 2000’s…it’s a problem. Fangirl is on my fall TBR shortlist, so I’m looking forward to the opportunity sit down and read it (loooooved Eleanor and Park!). andtara at gmail!

  3. I have am a total fan girl over book character Patch from Hush Hush. Oh good lord, I get excited just thinking about him. Totally swoon worthy! Other than that, I fangirl over Alex Pettyfer and The Walking Dead. Oh gosh, yes, TWD is my addiction. So yes, as much as I like to deny it, I fangirl over a lot of things. Zombies, 80s movies, etc. The list goes on and on. My email is mgt17770(at)yahoo(dot)com

  4. I literally cannot choose one thing I fangirl over. Some things i fangirl over would be Harry Potter (the whole series), Darren Criss (my current favorite celebrity/artist), Dominic Sherwood (my new favorite artist), The Legend of Korra/Avatar the Last airbender, books that take place in paris (a new thing for me), anything british/UK (the country, the history, etc) and so much more!

  5. This is such a lovely interview! I fangirl over so many things that I can’t even think of them all right now, but my two latest obsessions are probably Downton Abbey and Rhys Bowen’s Her Royal Spyness Books. I’ve watched all three seasons of DA at least three times. And Rhys’ books are so good that I’ve read the entire series at least twice and some of my favorites like three or four times. Darcy O’Mara is my new favorite literary crush! If you haven’t read these then you should definitely check them out.
    Oh, and I can’t wait to read Fangirl!

  6. Pingback: Happy Birthday to The Selective Collective (and Giveaway)! | YA Crush

Comments are closed.