Top Ten Tuesday- Best/Worst Series Endings

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The
Broke and The Bookish
.toptentuesday
Have you ever done something in your head so many times
that you think you’ve actually done it in real
life? Yeah that’s me today. I thought about this post over and over
while driving the kids to school, while doing laundry and answering
Girl Scout e-mails. But did I actually write in on the computer?
Nah! So, here is the short list (because you don’t think I actually
remember everything I had to say do you? That was days ago!) of the
Best/Worst Series Endings in the History of All Book Series
Endings.

Best:

Forever<br /><br />
Princess

1. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot- Well duh. What a fabulous, happy ending that made me feel so satisfied, so warm and fuzzy, that I probably reread this book at
least four or five times a year.  And yeah, part of it is my insane love for Michael Moscovitz, but the other part is that it really was a great way to end the series. Cabot left me believing that Mia is out there right now, living her life exactly as she was meant to.

Monsters of<br /><br />
Men

2. Monsters of Men byPatrick Ness-

This series started strong and ended beautifully. It
gives me chills remembering it all. I cried and I sat on the edge
of my seat, so moved by the profound bond between Todd and Viola,
and the love that drives them to attempt to overcome the odds.

Deathly Hallows3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling-
I think we can all agree that Rowling is a genius, right? Every
loose end tied up, all details so perfectly laid out from start to
finish. Beautifully, perfectly done.

Where She Went4. Where She Went
by Gayle Forman- Good Lord, bring out the Kleenex. This is a
swoonfest with great emotion, letting us into the heart of Adam,
the guy who just couldn’t let Mia go. This is one of those rare
sequels that surpasses the first book. I read this one over and
over.

We'll Always Have Summer5. We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han- I love
this series and I found it so refreshing to read chapters written
from Conrad’s perspective. He’s always been Belly’s big crush, her
first love, her big heartbreak and in that he’s been everything
from charming to douchy, elusive in every way. Finally getting in
his head, understanding him and his feelings for Belly, the
conflict he faces watching her prepare to marry his brother, was so
satisfying.

The Not So Good
I’m going to guess that most people have the first two:

Breaking Dawn1. Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyers- I didn’t hate this book. I loved the
first portion with the wedding and finally, FINALLY the sexy
business. I loved the latter portion (some of it), finally seeing
Bella’s transformation, watching her go from the weakest character
to the strongest. What I hated was Jacob’s portion. Talk about
drawing out the story! It was SO boring (and it doesn’t help that I
hate him). And the ending, while I was happy to see all the loose
ends tied up, it felt rather uneventful after all the buildup. So,
I didn’t hate it, but I felt let down.

Mockingjay2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins- I liked so many things here. I mean Crazy Peeta alone was worth the price of admission. I loved getting more of my man Gale,
too (and that Collins felt it necessary to point out his obvious
hotness all of the time).  I also loved Finnick’s portion. The
wedding–oh, the wedding–with the cake and the flowers made by Mr.
Real of Fake himself? Loved it. But the very end. That whole scene
where Katniss is “sleeping” and having a Bella-like moment where
she listens to Gale and Peeta talk about her. Ugh! And then, when
she has the chance to kill Snow AND SHE DOESN’T? What the what?
Then she suggests they continue the games in Prim’s honor. Is she
on crack? And finally, the worst to me, watching Gale skulk away
and just disappear. He didn’t have to end up with her, but he
deserved a better ending than that.

Requiem3. Requiem by Lauren Oliver- I
didn’t love this book because it was very slow, but I appreciated
seeing life through Hana’s eyes. The main thing that upset me was
the ending. It was such a non-ending, so elusive. That annoys
me.  If a series is over at least tell me what happens.
Please.

On The Fence
Clockwork PrincessClockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare- This is mildly spoilery, so
you may want to run and hide if you haven’t read it. I thought the
majority of the book was fabulous, heartbreaking at times, but very
well-done and quite satisfying. Then came the Epilogue. I even
loved, sobbed, while reading the first few pages. Then came the
very very end (but it’s not quite an ending is
it? Tessa is immortal, after all). Without spoiling too much, let me
just say this regarding love triangles: characters, in my opinion,
should not have their cake and eat it too. I know Ms. Clare has
defended her position on tumblr and good for her. But to me, as a
reader, to be truly satisfying, protagonists may have to make a
painful choice–one they hopefully won’t regret. I understand
that Tessa’s case is different, as she lives forever, and I wanted
her to be happy. But it would have been nice to see her happy with
someone else. The end.

Happy Tuesday to all!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Best/Worst Series Endings

  1. I stuck with only ‘good’ endings–Harry Potter made my list, too.–but I agree with you an several of them. When an author throws logic to the wind to wrap up all the happy endings in an improbably convenient way, it annoys me.

  2. Diana and I debated whether two books was a series and in the end decided they weren’t, but I’m glad to see WSW on *your* list! Of course I agree about BD and Requiem… SPOILER ALERT: I actually do like the ending of CP, so we disagree there, but I have personally witnessed widows finding very real, very beautiful second loves that didn’t in any way demean the love they shared with their first husbands. So I may be one of the few who don’t think one had to do with the other.

Leave a Reply

