Prodigy

Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

ProdigyInjured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games? (Goodreads)

The Story:

Prodigy picks up right after Legend, so if you’ve not read the first book you may want to skip on over to the library and grab it. It’s quite good.

June and an injured Day are wanted. For Day this is nothing new, but now the Republic wants June, who they consider a traitor because she helped Day escape their clutches. They look to the Patriots for help, which is where Tess and Kaede have sought refuge. In the arms of the Patriots they find food, shelter, protection (though they don’t all trust or like Day and June) and help for Day’s badly wounded leg. They only ask for one thing in return: the assassination of the new Elector.

Times are changing in the Republic. There continue to be riots and small instances where individuals form an uprising against the oppressive government. When the Elector dies, his son Anden takes his place and the Patriots inform Day and June that it’s their job to take him down to help restore the country. June is set up to infiltrate the Republic once more, to bargain for her freedom by giving Anden false information about an assassination attempt being planned. This will win his trust so that she can help him walk into the trap the Patriots have set for him–one where Day will be there to take his life.  Both Day and June agree to the plan, though not without trepidation, and it sets the ball rolling.

But they aren’t completely sure who they can trust. Separated, they begin to feel uncertain. June is impressed by Anden and what he believes about government and his responsibility to the people and she suddenly isn’t so sure he’s the problem. She begins to see him as a solution to the atrocities that have taken place at the hand of the Republic. Meanwhile Day, while parted from June, can see she wants to back out, but he’s struggling with issues of jealously as he watches them through video feed, noticing Anden’s obvious attraction to June, feeling inadequate in comparison.

My Thoughts:

I really struggled with the first half of this book. I was so excited to pick up this story again, to learn more about the Colonies and what happened to tear America apart and create this divided nation. And yes, I wanted more Day and June. This time around, I really had a hard time with Day. I hate to say it, but he came off a bit whiny at first. It was all internalized and while I realize that no matter how awesome he is at evading the Republic he’s still an insecure teenage boy, it annoyed me.  I guess I wanted him to rise above his jealously and feelings of inferiority and he wasn’t able to do that right away.  June remained fierce and strong and she carried the story for me. And I have to admit, I loved seeing her feel a pull in Anden’s direction, not only politically, but emotionally. Anden is a good guy and I’m so interested to learn more about him.

The second half of the book stepped up the action. Once June realizes she actually believes Anden’s intentions are good then it’s Game On. She and Day have to make a decision about what side they’ll be on and how they’ll accomplish their plans, and that’s when the story gets good. Day even started to bug me a little less (I feel bad saying that because I really liked him in the first book). And the tension and love and uncertainty between him and June gets good again.

Crush Intensity: 4/5 I liked the second half a lot, and while I wish it hadn’t felt like it took so long to get there, the ending was satisfying.  I’m excited for the next book.

One thought on “Prodigy

  1. It’s good to know that it starts out a little slow. I was really into Legend, and it was so action packed that I think I might have been underwhelmed if I hadn’t been warned ahead of time. Can’t wait to read it next month!

Leave a Reply

