The Dream Thieves

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie St

Dream TheivesNow that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…(Goodreads)

This book is the sequel to the fabulous, fantastic, awesomely rad (oh, I went 80’s on you. Yeah), The Raven BoysThis is a tough book to review without getting super-spoilery though, so I’m going to keep the chatter to a minimum.

What an incredible world Stiefvater has created here, balancing between the normal (Swoony boys! Crushes! Embarrassing family!) with the outright crazy (I’m still not entirely sure what a let line is. There. I said it), supported by amazing characters, full of pain and depth, surprisingly real even though they’re living through experiences you and I never will. And reading this I felt so absorbed, so completely immersed, I never wanted it to end.

In this book there is a much greater focus on Ronan, a character who was deeply mysterious in book one. Ronan has an incredible power barely hinted at in the last book. Do you remember it? Spoiler alert: he can pull things from his dreams. It’s a strange gift that can be viewed as both a blessing and a curse, both exhilarating and terrifying, an amazing ability but it’s partnered with other terrifying issues (creepy bird men monsters that try to kill him. Word to the wise: The word creepy doesn’t even do them justice). There’s alot going on with the boys and Blue individually, the struggles they have, the lots they’ve each been given in life, and yet they all intersect, each person a unique part of the whole. I still felt for Adam, I ached for Noah, and I crushed on Gansey. But the star of the show by far here was Ronan.

As always, Stiefvater’s prose is gorgeous, lush and somewhat dark. This is the perfect sequel, one that pushes us deeper into this incredibly strange world, moves the story forward but still totally and completely leaves you hanging in the end. I cannot wait for the next book.

Crush Intensity: 4.5/5 This book was truly awesome. I love this series. I love the characters.

Thank you to Net Galley and Scholastic for sharing an e-galley with me in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves

  1. I’ve heard mixed reviews for this one, but I think it’s more of a letdown since The Raven Boys was just SO good that it’s hard to match that brilliance. Anyway, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! Ronan and Adam were my favorite (though I could empathize with Gansy and his personality the most), and Noah has a soft spot in my heart too. I can’t wait to read this one!

    • Personally, I loved it. I totally get the idea that the second book in a series can be a let down, but for me, I thought this was a great sequel. I think it’s easy to feel like the first book is stronger because, of course, this is where we’re introduced to this amazing, crazy world and to these wonderful characters. It’s like a first kiss; you can get that back. But here I thought she expanded the story so beautifully, and there was still such great, pardon the expression, WTFery with Ronan and his bizarre ability. There are also some new characters and the weird guy, Kavinsky (sp?) from the first book is further explored. I hope you like it. It’s definitely not a complete story because it feel like there’s sooooo much going on, but I really feel fully immersed now! Let me know what you think. 🙂

  2. I loved the second installment to Maggie’s new series! I felt the same way you did about the boys. Also, the crush intensity is definitely up my alley! I was swooning for a particular Raven boy in some instances 😉

    I wrote a review of The Dream Thieves if you want to check it out! 🙂

    Lovely review! I cannot wait for the next installment! It needs to come FAST.

  3. Loved this one! I’m still not 100% sure what’s going on with this whole story, but whatever – it’s a beautiful series and Steifvater’s writing is phenomenal! Can’t wait for the next one!

  4. Pingback: Blue Lily, Lily Blue | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

