Top Ten Tuesday- Books for Um, People

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

This week we are discussing books for people who _______________. Fill in the blanks. This is so hard because I really can’t choose just one category. I think “People Who Read” should cover it because a good book is a good book. But there are the snobs who think they can only read NYT Bestsellers or Adult Fiction, there are those who say they’d never read YA and assume I spend my days reading books about vampires and prom (I’d be SO okay with books about prom, truth be told). And then there are those who are stepping into YA, like my twelve year-old, but are at a loss for what books might be appropriate (because the ratings on YA books leave a bit to be desired).   So I’m just going to make a couple of lists and explain.

For Those Who Would Never Read YA (Except When They Fell In Love With The Hunger Games Which, For Some Reason, They Think Doesn’t Count)

Sky Paperback1. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson- Shocker, I know. I have recommended this book to everyone I know and those who’ve read it, they fell in love with it. I definitely think it’s more of a girl’s book, meaning, my husband isn’t going to borrow it and swoon over Joe Fontaine anytime soon, but still. Bat Bat.

The Fault in Our Stars2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green- Ditto. You don’t have to be a John Green fan, a teenage girl, or a YA person to love this book. It’s okay to be afraid of the subject matter (I was), but you’ll be surprised how often you’ll smile.

Divergent3. Divergent by Veronica Roth- I’ve always loved this series more than THG. I’m not sure why exactly, as both are well-done. This one spoke to me more, I guess. And what a stellar group of characters.

If I Stay4. If I Stay/ Where She Went by Gayle Forman- Even the Tin Man will love these books. I think you can relate to it as a story about being a parent, about being a sister, or a girlfriend, or best friend. I don’t see how genres make a difference here.

The Book Thief5. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak- This should be required reading for all.

Giver6. The Giver by Lois Lowry- I think people avoid this sometimes because it’s more of a middle grade book, but what a unique, powerful story. I read it for the first time this year (at the hastening of my daughter) and loved it.

E&P7. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell- The love story will appeal to most people, and there’s such good writing here, such wit, such pain, and fantastic music references. I think it will especially appeal to anyone raised around the time period of the 1980’s.

For Those Not Ready To Read Certain Things

I have a twelve year-old daughter, and have a Girl Scout troop full of girls who peruse my bookshelves and borrow things on a regular basis (though they mock my Michael Moscovitz crush…because I haven’t let them read it yet!). There are so many books they will love one day, but now is not quite the time for them. While I’m not a proponent of censorship in any way, I do feel age and content should be taken into consideration. It shocks me how graphic certain books can be, many labeled 14 and Up, the highest YA rating. In fact, I recently read a book for 13 and Up and it included pretty graphic oral sex scenes. Eeeks! I’m not against the content overall or the author’s right to put it there, but as a parent, I would like monitor what my kids read for as long as possible.

Here is what I recommend to my girls who have outgrown Superfudge and want to move on from Harry Potter and Percy Jackson into books with romance or ones with protagonists like them. These girls have been there, done that with The Hunger Games and Divergent are ready to explore a bit more. Please keep in mind that on this list there is still some language, kissing, possibly mentions of sex, but nothing graphic or over the top (my own daughter has read all but number 5).

the truth about forever1. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Legend2. Legend by Marie Lu

Selection3. The Selection by Kiera Cass

Frankie cover4. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks

Heist Society5. Heist Society by Ally Carter

The Hunt6. The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

Meant to Be7. Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

Summer I Turned Pretty8. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

ScorpioCover9. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Entwined 210. Entwined by Heather Dixon

Two lists in one week? I think that’s good for now. Happy Tuesday!

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books for Um, People

  1. Excellent list! I wouldn’t remove any of the books, but I would have to add Jellicoe Road. That book is the complete package. The writing is downright beautiful. The characters are complex, intense and amazing. And the interwoven stories manage both heartbreak and hope. There is no way to express how much I love Jellico Road. I recommend it all the time.

Leave a Reply

