Top Ten Tuesday- Things to Be Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday
This week, as we approach Thanksgiving, we are discussing what we’re thankful for. This is a great topic because even though we can so easily say we’re thankful for our many blessings, we rarely think of them in detail. I like to try to remember this awesome quote:

…I discover that slapping a sloppy brush of thanksgiving over everything in my life leaves me thankful for very few things in my life.

-Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts

I think that’s such a simple, wonderful idea, to name the things and people and gifts and opportunities that make us feel blessed, and to try to do this on a daily, not only yearly, basis. I actually started a journal (along with my wonderful book club, as we read through the aforementioned book) and, while I don’t write in it every day, it is amazing the joy it brings, in good days and bad, to reflect on things, big and small, and to reread the lists from days past.

Here are some of the things I’m especially grateful for today.

1. For the powerful, unending, constant flow of grace from God, without whom I would be desperately lost.

2. For my husband, who sees my good and bad and loves me–adores me–still. To me, he is better than any boy in any book ever written (Whew! Thank goodness, since I married him!).

3. For my daughter, Chloe, who is an inspiration to me in her drive, in her hard-work and in her fierce devotion to being her true self. She is unashamed of who she is, of what she likes, of what she believes. I wish I’d been even a tiny bit like that at her age.

4. For my daughter, Carissa, who embodies everything sweet and thoughtful in this world to me. She is a joy, day in and day out, and keeps the laughter going in our house from sun up to sun down.

5. For my friends, old and new. This includes my blogging besties: Sandie, Candice, Kristina, Brittany and Daphne, I love these girls as if I’ve known them my entire life. And I’ve never even met them face to face. But I speak to them on a daily basis and those moments mean so much to me. And where would I be without my awesomely kooky text sessions with Vee? I’ll tell you. I’d be laughing a lot less.

6. For my mom and dad. Seriously, they’re amazing. I’m an only child and they gave me a beautiful life filled with love and laughter, and they continue to do that, to encourage me, to lavish my husband and children (and me) with the same devotion I received growing up.

7. For the incredible blessing of being a stay at home mom. I realize it’s not for everyone, but for me, it’s my dream life (with less money and more laundry. Ha ha! Just kidding. I wouldn’t change a thing.).

8. For my church. It took us years to find one, but what a wonderful, perfect fit for our family.

9. For the amazing men and women who have been teachers to my children. My husband is a teacher. I know how hard they work and I appreciate the education and the love they’ve shown my girls.

10. For blessings like food, clothing and shelter. I know not everyone has these things and I don’t know why they are so easily bestowed upon me, but I’m grateful.

11. For this country. Whatever political beliefs you come from, as a mother of daughters especially, I am incredibly grateful we live in a place where girls are treated as humans, where they are valued, where they are educated, where they have opportunity and worth. No, we’re not perfect, but there is hope for them here, hope that women in many other countries can never dream of.

12. For books! I mean this with all sincerity. Books take me to wonderful, happy places on my best days as well as on my darkest ones. To the authors who write them, the publishers who make them happen, and everyone in between–including the amazing blogging community who promotes them–thank you.

See how amazing it is to list your blessings? One more quote before I wrap up, again, from the same book (which I’ve been revisiting lately):

God gives gifts and I give thanks and I unwrap the gift given: joy.

                                                                Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts

Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Things to Be Thankful For

Leave a Reply

