Quintana of Charyn

Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles #3)

Quintana of CharynThere’s a babe in my belly that whispers the valley, Froi. I follow the whispers and come to the road . . .

Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi must travel through Charyn to search for Quintana, the mother of Charyn’s unborn king, and protect her against those who will do anything to gain power. But what happens when loyalty to family and country conflict? When the forces marshalled in Charyn’s war gather and threaten to involve the whole of the land, including Lumatere, only Froi can set things right, with the help of those he loves.

 

Okay, if you’re reading this I’m going to assume you’ve read the first two books, Finnikin of the Rock ( I loved this book so much I wanted to have babies with it) and Froi of the Exiles (I struggled with this one and though ultimately I liked it, we did not fall in love. It’s sad because I LOVE Froi and I love Marchetta, but alas, I only really, really liked it instead of falling head over heels. It happens). In any case this is an epic series and if you read any further without having read the first two books. there may be spoilers ahead. Just a warning.

When we pick up, Froi is basically just waking from being beaten within an inch of his life and being separated from Quintana (otherwise known as Crazypants, or CP for short). CP is pregnant with his child, the future king of Charyn, but Quintana’s life is still in danger, as is the fate of that child. Finnikin and Isaboe continue life in Lumatere. As Isaboe’s consort, Finnikin tries to help his wife in her duties as the Queen. Although Isaboe is pregnant, she still “walks the sleep” and she often seems to have a strange connection with Froi. The two miss their friend tremendously and fear for his safety. When Finnikin goes to finally seek vengeance on the man who killed Isaboe’s family (eeeks! Froi’s dad!), he finds Froi (and almost kills him, OMG, the stress) and begins to question his loyalty.

There’s so much more going on here, it’s practically impossible to summarize. That’s the thing with Marchetta books. They’re amazing. But there are about fifty characters and ten stories going at once. We have Lucien and his wife, and Froi’s parents, and we have the people who want to kill Quintana, and we have life in Lumatere, and tons and tons of small stories. It sounds overwhelming, but it’s not because they all overlap a bit. There were moments when I had to stop and try to recall what had occurred in the previous book, or where I got confused as to who was who (notice I’m using very few names in this review. I can’t remember half of them!), but the story really comes together in this final book in the series.

Originally, the big thing for me was this: CP never grew on me in the previous book because she was, well, crazy. Not legitimately crazy, but she wanted most people to think she was and she liked to scare people off. Froi seemed to totally get this about her, but I never bought into it—until this book. In this book CP grew on me a little more. I understood the way she loved that unborn baby, and the hope she saw in him. I loved the lengths she’d go to to protect him. BUT STILL. There was no way Quintana was ever going to dethrone Isaboe—darling, feisty Isaboe— in my book. And I worried about how this would end. I love Froi. I love Finnikin.  And poor Froi was  sort of stuck. CP was pregnant and he loves her, but he’s also loyal to Lumatere. I seriously stressed about how this would all turn out happily since  Charyn and Lumatere were not on friendly terms. Everyone I loved hated CP, except Froi, who decided to make a baby with her. Oh, the drama.

But of course, Marchetta ties it all up so beautifully, so magnificently. I adored this book. She is a breathtaking writer who has given us such rich stories and unbelievably real characters. I was very sorry to say goodbye to these people (even Crazypants, who I grew to respect).  It was such a good ending, but oh so bittersweet.

Sigh.

Crush Intensity: 5/5 If you have not read this series, do it. Do it now.

Where’s I Get It: The library!

 

2 thoughts on “Quintana of Charyn

  1. Hurrah! And I agree a lot with you. I was shocked when I read in a MM forum that some readers liked Quintana over Isaboe. I don’t rank my love of characters, but hello Isaboe and Finnikin are the basis of the story, and Froi its heart (the part where he gets the 3 tattoos? LOVE!). I LOVED Lucian and Phaedra as well, and how they become the figurative and literal intersection of the two kingdoms, and of course FROI grew up so much and became the man both kingdoms needed. Can I take a little bit of credit for you finally getting to it? ❤

    • You can absolutely take credit for that. I read Finnikin at your urging, having always avoided it (despite my love of Melina Marchetta) because I’m not a big fantasy girl. So glad you talked me into it!

Leave a Reply

