The Trouble With Flirting

The Trouble With Flirting by Claire LaZebnik

Franny’s supposed to be working this summer, not flirting. But you can’t blame her when guys like Alex and Harry are around. . . .

FlirtingFranny Pearson never dreamed she’d be attending the prestigious Mansfield Summer Theater Program. And she’s not, exactly. She’s working for her aunt, the resident costume designer. But sewing her fingers to the bone does give her an opportunity to spend time with her crush, Alex Braverman. If only he were as taken with the girl hemming his trousers as he is with his new leading lady.

When Harry Cartwright, a notorious flirt, shows more than a friendly interest in Franny, she figures it can’t hurt to have a little fun. But as their breezy romance grows more complicated, can Franny keep pretending that Harry is just a carefree fling? And why is Alex suddenly giving her those deep, meaningful looks? In this charming tale of mixed messages and romantic near-misses, one thing is clear: Flirting might be more trouble than Franny ever expected.

The Story:Franny is set to spend the summer with her somewhat crotchety aunt, who is the costume designer for the Mansfield Summer Theater program. Franny isn’t attending the program, no, no , no. Some people have to work for the summer. But still. She gets to work all day in a stuffy room, sewing away with her aunt, and spend her free time with the kids who are attending the program, eating her meals with them, hanging out in their dorms with them, maybe crushing on one or two of them. As it turns out, Franny knows a couple of the kids there. In fact, one of them is her end all be all crush from middle school, Alex.

I know!

Here’s the problem though: Alex flirts with Franny. And she gets her hopes up and seems to really enjoy it–but he has a girlfriend, a beautiful and pretty much perfect girlfriend. Franny can’t spend her summer pining for Alex, even though he often acts like he likes her, but she doesn’t want to give in to Harry, the biggest flirt in the program. Harry has a thing for Franny, too, but she doesn’t take it too seriously. It’s all in good fun, especially since Harry seems to flirt with everyone around. If she happens to flirt with Harry and it makes Alex jealous, all the better.

My Thoughts:

This book is adorable. It has everything I love in a book: romance, humor, flirting (duh), cuteness (this is quite important), looks of longing, and finally, kissing. I love kissing books.  The Trouble With Flirting is a very loose adaptation of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park. To be quite honest, it had been so long since I’d read Austen’s original, that other than a few names, I could barely recall the similarities. This story does have some things in common with MP, but it also takes some fun twists and ultimately, LaZebnik owns the story. Her characters are charming, the writing light and fun, and the romance is perfectly sweet. This is the kind of book you don’t want to put down because it makes you laugh and smile and feel warm and fuzzy, sort of like a nice bottle wine and a bubble bath. I especially had a love for Harry (I do enjoy those cocky boys!).

Crush Intensity: 4/5 I really enjoyed this one. Thanks to Brittany for recommending it to me. I’ve previously read LaZebik’s take on Pride and Prejudice, Epic Fail, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Where I Got It:  The library, of course!

5 thoughts on “The Trouble With Flirting

  1. I really enjoyed LaZebnik’s Epic Fail, and have been meaning to read The Trouble with Flirting for awhile. Obviously I haven’t gotten there yet. I really need to make the time. Glad you liked this. I like humor and kissing in my romances too!

  2. oh, i didn’t know this was an adaptation of Mansfield Park, now I wanna read it more. I have read Epic Fail & loved it as well as at least one of her adult novels, so with this rec, i need to move it to the top of the list 🙂

  3. I’ve lurked around your blog for several months now without leaving comments but I feel compelled to tell you that, thanks to you, I have been swimming in amazing YA fiction and have never had to ask “What should I read next?” ever since I started following your blog. I thank you and my students thank you! Am currently finishing up Quintana of Charyn (a series I would never have heard of much less picked up had I not been following you) and will read your review once I’m done. Kudos and keep ’em coming!

    In other non-related news: I know I’m a fashion blogger, but I nominated you anyway. Come check it out if you have a spare moment: http://myclosetcatalogue.com/2013/12/14/the-nominations-please/

Leave a Reply

