Top Ten Tuesday- Fav New To Me Authors of 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday
This week we are discussing authors who are new to us. I have to say, as I went through my Goodreads before posting this, I really didn’t branch out and discover many new authors this year. But those I found, I truly fell in love with. So here goes.

Lois Lowry1. Lois Lowry, The Giver quartet- Right off the bat I’m getting a little cheatery. I loved Lowry as a kid because of the Anastasia series. But I need to say that since The Giver series is so dramatically different, and since I haven’t read an Anastasia book in like maybe thirty years (ahem, that hurt to type), I’m going to claim that I’ve discovered Lowry once more. This is all thanks to my daughter, Chloe, who begged me to read The Giver and to the publisher, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, who offered to send us the final three books, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. What a wonderful series! I can’t believe I waited this long to read it.

Yep, that's me and Robin Benway, my new best friend (I wish).

Yep, that’s me and Robin Benway, my new best friend (I wish).

2. Robin Benway, Also Known As, Audrey Wait– This girl is hilarious. Her books are funny, smart, and very witty. I will read anything she writes. Anything.

Katja Millay3.  Katja Millay, The Sea of Tranquility– Good gravy, this was such a beautiful debut. It gave me chills. And that last line, oh, it slayed me, but in a good way.

Huntely Fitzpatrick4. Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door– What a sweet, unassuming book that carved its way into my heart. Fitzpatrick so perfectly captured first love and First Timeness in all its sweet awkward beauty. This is one I’d read again and again.

Lindsey Leavitt5. Lindsey Leavitt, Going Vintage, Princess for Hire– Again, I can’t believe I waited this long to pick up one of her books. She is a charming writer. End of story.

Emily Murdoch6. Emily Murdoch, If You Find Me– This was such a startling, haunting debut. I hope to see more from her.

Michelle Moran7. Michelle Moran, Nefertiti-I learned about Moran from my book club. She’s a fantastic writer, spinning stories set in lush, interesting time periods, surrounded by familiar characters we’ve learned about in text books and documentaries. This is historical fiction at its best.

Rainbiw Rowell8. Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park, Fangirl–  My first Rowell book was E&P, and from the first few pages, I was in love. She is a beautiful, articulate writer who captures such realism and sweetness in some of the most simple, every day moments. I’m so looking forward to her next book, Landline. I am definitely a fan for life.

That’s all for now.  Happy Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Fav New To Me Authors of 2013

  1. I also “discovered” Rainbow Rowell (E&P) and Lois Lowry (The Giver) this year! I absolutely love both of them now! I’ll have to explore the works of some of these other authors… many of them I’ve never even heard of!

  2. Yes, I am a Rainbow Rowell fan for life, too! Her books are amazing. I haven’t read Lowry’s Giver series, but I love her Number the Stars book. It’s a kids book, and so wonderful. I discovered Robin Benway this year too. I still haven’t read Audrey Wait, though. I am currently reading Going Rogue though, and it’s great. So much fun!

Leave a Reply

