Favorite Books of 2013

Well hellooooo there. Long time, no chat. Sorry. Things have been crazy here what with the holidays, and the whole family being on Christmas vacation, and the one awesome day I spent with the stomach flu (which sucked, but led me to discover my new favorite TV show, Once Upon a Time. Thank you Netflix). Whew. Crazy times.

We are long overdue for a list, and of course, I felt it was appropriate to tell you my favorite books I’ve read this year. Now, I have to be honest, this was a tough reading year for me. I fell in love with fewer books, but never fear, the ones I did like I fell quite hard for. Hopefully, you find some books here you loved too or, even better, hopefully you find some titles to add to your TBR list for 2014.

 

The Stand Alones (or first book in a series)

E&PEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell- You’re seeing it on lists everywhere for a reason. Read it. Fall in love with it.

 

My Life Next DoorMy Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick- I love a good love story. There. Said it. Done.

 

If You Find MeIf You Find Me by Emily Murdoch- Beautifully written, stark and heartbreaking at times, but so worth the read.

 

GiverThe Giver by Lois Lowry- I waited far too long to read this. Thank goodness my daughter convinced me to go for it.

 

sea of tranquilityThe Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay- Beautiful. Just absolutely beautiful.

 

Book of Broken HeartsThe Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler- Get out your tissues. This book is near-perfect.

 

The Raven BoysThe Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater- I was late to the game here, but this book was phenomenal.

 

The Sequels

Unravel MeUnravel Me ( Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi- Do I have to keep saying it? Chapter 62.

 

Siege and StormSiege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo- Fantatstic sequel. Totally excellent.

 

AllegiantAllegiant ( Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth- Broke. My. Heart.

 

Quintana of CharynQuintana of Charyn  (The Lumatere Chronicles #3) by Melina Marchetta- Saying goodbye to Finnikin, Isaboe, and Froi and their beloved story was hard indeed.

 

Honorable Mentions

Going VintageGoing Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

FangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell

 

 

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2013

  1. I also read The Giver, Eleanor & Park, and The Raven Boys this year, and I loved them all! I’ve seen The Book Of Broken Hearts at the library lately, and I’ve picked it up a few times but never actually checked it out. I’ll have to now!

  2. Yes, exactly, Eleanor & Park is on everyone’s list for a reason – it’s so freaking good and everyone should read it. Or at least something by Rainbow Rowell.

Leave a Reply

