Going Rogue

Going Rogue (Also Known As #2) by Robin Benway

 

Goinmg RogueBeing permanently based in a local New York City high school as an undercover operative has its moments, good and bad, for 16-year-old safecracker Maggie Silver. Pros: More quality time with her former mark-turned-boyfriend Jesse Oliver and insanely cool best friend, Roux. Getting to spend quality time with her semi-retired and international spy honorary uncle, Angelo. Cons: High school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations. But when Maggie’s parents are falsely accused of stealing priceless gold coins, Maggie uses her safecracking skills to try and clear their names. Too bad it only serves to put her and everyone she loves in danger. Maggie and her “new team” flee to Paris where they must come up with a plan to defeat their former allies. (Goodreads)

The Story:Maggie has managed to balance life as a NY high school student who has a supremely awesome boyfriend and a hilarious best friend, with her other life. The one where she’s a safecracking spy. It’s the life she was born into, a family legacy started by her spy parents–mom is a hacker, dad is a language expert and her “uncle” pretty much can do it all.  Things seems near-perfect until her uncle, Angelo, informs the family that her parents are being accused of stealing some priceless treasure and it’s beginning to look like the Collective, the very group who has trained and protected her family over the years, is no longer on their side. In fact, they might be the bad guy. And Maggie, desperate tp prove that her parents are innocent, now has to work essentially on her own. She fears jeopardizing the safety of her boyfriend, Jesse, and her best friend, Roux. Plus her mom and dad aren’t exactly thrilled that she’s getting involved, not that that is going to stop her.

 

My Thoughts:

This is an adorable series. I really loved the first book and the second does not disappoint.  There are two big strength here, the first being Benway’s funny, fast-paced writing. She is so witty and her characters make me laugh out loud. The second is the actual characters she’s created. They are awkward and endearing, sweet and nerdy (I love Maggie’s parents, holy cow. And Roux. There’s not enough I can say about Roux) and even though they live these untouchably cool, strange lives, they feel authentic, like a friend you’d hang out with any day of the week.

While I definitely liked the first book better, this was a strong sequel. I enjoyed seeing Maggie take charge, watching her grow up and branch out.  Maggie’s parents felt less present this time around (because of the nature of the story) and I missed them. On the other hand, I thought some of the new characters introduced were great and I’m hoping to see more of them in future books.

If you have not read Also Known As, the first book in this series, you should do so immediately. Then pick up this sequel. It’ll leave you with a smile on your face for days (still smiling right now)!

Crush Intensity: 4.25/5 I hope there will be more books in this series because they are so cute and I always enjoy everything written by Robin Benway.

 

Thank you to Netgalley and Bloomsbury for sharing an e-galley of Going Rogue with me!

4 thoughts on “Going Rogue

  1. Thanks for the great sneak preview on Going Rogue! I hope it’s ok that I’ve added a link to your review on this book to the library’s class page under the notice of Robin Benway’s visit to our school.

    You are coming on Feb. 4th, right?

    You are amazing!

    • Oh, Alana, thank you. You are so sweet. I really hope to come that day. I’m going to see if my dad can pick up the kids so I can be there. 🙂

  2. I liked Also Known As more than Going Rogue, as well. But I did still like this one. I definitely think that Benway’s characters are the best things about this series. And Roux!!! I just love her. She’s my favorite character. I know so many people love Angelo, and I do too, but Roux has a special place in my heart.

    • My two favorites: Roux and Angelo. Roux far outweighs anyone else though. She is hilarious. I also thought the parents were really funny in the first book. Maybe that’s why I felt their loss this time around (though it was important to the story, I know).

Leave a Reply

