Top Ten Tuesday- Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday

Well, it’s feels like forever since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday. I know, I’m sorry. I’ve been lacking in the list-making department.  But never fear. Today I’m ready to tackle this week’s subject: My Reading Wishlist. This can be regarding more from a particular author, certain issues tackled, etc.

So let’s get to it!

I Heart MM1. You know what’s coming, right? But I have to say it. Have. To.

Michael Moscovitz. I want more of Michael Moscovitz Fake Man of My Dreams. So this goes out specifically to Meg Cabot: I need more Princess Diaries. I know the series has wrapped, but I reread it a couple of times a year in its entirety, then I pick up individual books from the series at random (so pretty much, I’m always reading a PD book). I need more.

love to laugh2. Funny Books- I love books that make me laugh out loud. I respect the fact that most authors say it’s more difficult to make someone laugh than it is to make them cry. I believe that. But I want to laugh. I want to giggle. I want to read smart funny, witty funny, silly funny, goofy funny…just funny.

kissing books3. More kissing books- There really isn’t a shortage here, I just like them and will never tire of a sweet romance. NEV- EEEER. And can we take out that whole thing where Good Girl is paired in Bio labs with Bad Boy/Mysterious Hot New Guy in School? It’s been done. I’m open to anything else though.

boarding schools4. More Boarding School Settings- I probably never would have survived boarding school, but I like to think I would have been the Frankie Landau Banks of any school I attended. Humor me here (because it’s so NOT true. I am a rule follower all the way).

Hermione5. Speaking of Frankie, I’d like more girls who kick butt. I don’t just mean physically tough girls (those are great too), but girls who outsmart everyone. We need more girls like that.

Clueless6. Best Friend Stories- I love a good romance, but sometimes I just want to read a girl story about the ups and downs of friendship. Not boy/girl friendship (which I also love, hello adorable), but tried and true BFFs who share makeup and have sleepovers and who know everything about each other. I’d love to see more of that.

Paris7. Fish out of Water Stories- I love books about people adjusting to life in a new place (like Anna and the French Kiss). I can’t move to a new city. In fact, I’m a stay at home mom; I can’t fly to a new city. I want to visit a new place, get to know it like a local, all through the eyes pf my protagonist.

Harry P8. Wizards- I know there’s no one who can do it like JK Rowling, but I’d love more books about wizards. I’m not a huge genre Fantasy fan, but I could get behind a good wizard story again.

Boys in Books9. Boy’s POV- I really love a boy’s perspective. I especially love it if it’s a love story. Alternating perspectives, his and hers versions, work for me too. I just really enjoy getting into a boy’s head. If it’s done well it’s fascinating.

ryan_ya10. Contemporary YA- I love YA, obviously. I love everything about it. We’ve seen our vampire stages and fallen angels stages and plenty of mermaids, and dystopias. There has been good (and bad) in every facet of YA, but I can never get enough stories about normal girls, ones without superpowers or a wolf fetish (because really. I still don’t get it. It’s like falling in love with your dog) or who live in worlds that have survived some kind of apocalypse. These are all great, interesting things, but show me a girl who has a funny after school job and a crush on her co-worker, let me get to know a girl whose just lost her best friend or whose life has been rocked by tragedy, and I’ll get sucked in almost every time.

And what about you? Anything you’re wishing for?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Wishlist

  1. I’m also a sucker for a story set in a boarding school, after Harry Potter I may never get over that obsession. I’d also be down for more well done wizard stories! And I’d love for there to be more YA/NA books that really take a realistic look at the ups and downs of female friendships.

  2. I can totally relate to the last one on your wishlist. I do love other genres, but contemporary YA will never stop warming my heart and getting me into a good mood. AND MORE BOARDING SCHOOLS. That’s on my list, too! 🙂

  3. Books that make me laugh are almost always my favorites. And I agree, I think it must be harder to writer stories/scenes that are humorous than crying books/scenes. And heck yeah more best friend stories. Oh and yay for kick-ass girls!

  4. I like books that make me laugh out loud too! There are a couple of others I would like to see more of like the smart girls and another wizard series if there was another worthy author.

Leave a Reply

