Top Ten Tuesday- No, Thanks

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

toptentuesday
This week we are discussing fictional worlds we’d never want to live in (or characters we’d never want to trade places with). Look out: I think you’re in for a load of dystopic settings here…

The Places

Katniss Panem1. Panem, The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins–When I read a book I usually try to momentarily put myself –me as me, not as Katniss or anyone remotely cool–in that story and I ask myself what I’d do, how I’d survive it. And yeah, Panem in particular is an utter nightmare. It’s horrifyingly inhumane and as a parent I cringe at any story where adults are unable to truly protect their children from imminent danger. In this series life seems so hopeless.

Divergent Chicago2. Divergent era Chicago, Veronica Roth– Ditto, especially to life in the Dauntless clan. I’d have stayed at home with my mom and dad living the quiet, simple life because I’m a giant scaredypants.

 

More Than This3. The World of More Than This by Patrick Ness– I don’t know the proper name for this place but I am certain I don’t ever, ever want to go there. If you haven’t read the book you’re just going to have to trust me there (and read it because it’s awesome).

 

Knife of Never Letting Go4. Life on the planet in The Chaos Walking series By Patrick Ness– These are some seriously jacked up folks, people. Seriously. There’s a disease where everyone can hear the thoughts of every man. EVERY THOUGHT. Do you want to live with that? I don’t. And then, in this one town, they killed every woman in sight. And they want to kill their youngest boy, Todd and a girl whose ship has just crash-landed on their planet. These kids are thirteen and an entire town is trying to hunt them down and kill them! It’s heartbreaking–and fantastic. One of my all-time favorite book  series ever.

THE-GIVER_612x4125. Anytown Anywhere in The Giver series by Lois Lowry–There are definitely moments of sweetness in this quartet, but there is darkness in each setting, though it’s not as obvious as it might be in real life. It’s a threat that sits quietly and simmers in the background until you don’t realize it’s boiling over.

Wither6. The World of The Chemical Garden trilogy By Lauren DeStefano– I cannot recall the name of the country/town in which these characters reside, but the premise of living in a world where women are kidnapped to become wives, prisoners and basically baby machines to help continue the human race (as everyone under a certain age is supposed to die by the age of twenty) due to a genetic disorder.  There’s just no ray of sunshine there, I’m sorry. But the books are very good.

 

The People

Dracoy and Bellatrix1. Draco Malfroy, The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling– Yes, I know he’s an incredible poo throughout most of the series, but I actually felt bad for him when he’s told–when he’s bound–to kill Dumbledore. He’s been raised on the side of the bad guys his entire life and though I think it takes him far too long to see the light, I could see the struggle he was dealing with, being torn between loyalty to his family and realizing that the way he’d been thinking, the way he’d been raised, was actually wrong. I mean, I still thought he was a giant tool for most of the series, but really he was a pawn, a victim of the circumstances into which he was born.

If I Stay2. Mia, If I Stay, Where She Went by Gayle Forman–I love this story with every part of me. I love MIa’s romance with Adam, but she has suffered such intense loss, such tragedy, I can’t bear to think of how she was able to cope. Maybe that’s why WSW was such a healing, amazing book for me. I got to see where Mia was in life and know she was good. In fact, she was better than good; she was happy.

The Body FInder3. Violet, The Body Finder series by Kimberly Derting— I love these books, but yeah, there’s pretty much no part of me that wants to hear echoes from the dead. Nope. I don’t care how hot her boyfriend is.

Delirium4. Lena, The Delirium series by Lauren Oliver– Oliver did such a beautiful job portraying the melancholy life of a world where love (in any form) is outlawed and treated as a disease. However far-fetched the idea may be, the themes of government-imposed controls, of fear regarding the vulnerability love gives you, all felt very real to me.

 

That’s all for now. Happy Tuesday!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- No, Thanks

  1. You know, I’ve never given much thought to the characters I wouldn’t want to be. And I’m realizing it would SUCK to be Violet even with the adorbs boyfriend.
    Love the list!

  2. Love your choices! I snorted at “I’d have stayed at home with my mom and dad living the quiet, simple life because I’m a giant scaredypants” – YUP!! And if, by chance, I temporarily lost my mind and chose Dauntless, I’d have peaced out the moment they asked me to jump through that freaking hole.

    We’ve got some similar choices here. I haven’t read More Than This or The Body Finder, but I’ve added them to my list!

    • I freaked out in the book when they asked her to jump. No. Stinking. Way. I’d barely be able to walk through the Dauntless headquarters since they had that huge waterfall thing you could just fall over. Yeah, no thanks.

  3. I totally agree with not wanting to be Draco… as horrible as he was sometimes, it’s hard not to feel bad for him! The dystopia genre nowadays offers us so many examples of terrible worlds. It’s so interesting when you really think about it!

Leave a Reply

