These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars (Starbound Book#1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

these broken starsIt’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help. Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever? Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.  (Goodreads)

The Story:

Lilac is the daughter of the wealthiest man in the universe. Tarver is a highly respected soldier. They see each other one night aboard the Icarus ( a spaceship) and they flirt briefly, Tarver having no idea of Lilac’s real identity.  Lilac recognizes that her father would never approve of Tarver and so she changes her tune and treats him with scorn in front of her friends. Tarver leaves, understandably annoyed. Their worlds are too different, their station in life dictates where they should go and who they can fall for. No one knows this better than Lilac.

Fate throws them together once more when the Icarus begins to fall from the sky. As people scramble to find safety hatches, the sci-fi equivalent of a lifeboat, Lilac and Tarver jump into one and flee the ship before it crashes. They land on an uncharted planet to find that they are the only survivors of the crash, and worse, they seem to be completely alone on the planet.

As they struggle to survive and make their way to the wreckage of the Icarus in the hope of finding a rescue team–no doubt in their minds that Lilac’s father has sent one–they begin to notice eerie things about this new planet. They see odd things and hear whispers. It feels almost as if there are ghosts or spirits drawing them further in. The question remains: can they trust these voices or are they going insane? Through it all they become closer, desperate to save themselves and uncertain what the future holds.

My Thoughts:

Oh, yeah. I loved this book. It was so unique, so fun, so crazy different. It has this wonderful love story (no insta-love here, people. These two actually fall in love over time. It’s like a breath of fresh air). There’s the whole space/sci-fi aspect and then, of course, there’s this crazy mystery. More than once I found myself going WHAT. THE. WHAT?  But in a good way.

The beginning setup reminded me a bit of Titanic, if I’m quite honest. I haven’t read any other reviews, so I’m not sure if this is a common thing people are saying, but I liked this element.

You have Lilac, the rich girl, drawn to the boy she just shouldn’t love.

Titanic-Winslet Then there’s Tarver, an amazing guy in his own right, but one without the proper status.

JackAnd we all know what happens on the ship…

Sinking-Titanic-titanic-25510772-450-255Only this story is extra-awesome because the Icarus is a spaceship (albeit with quite an odd name).  After these similarities, the story is nothing like Titanic, but I really liked that initial vibe.

This book is well-written, told from the alternating perspectives of Tarver and Lilac (which I LOVE), and it has great tension. There are several moments that are intriguing, a serious OMG moment near the end, and together I think it all made for an excellent book.

Crush Intensity: 4.75/5 This is the first in a trilogy and I’m definitely excited to see where this series takes us.

Where’d I Get It: The library!

5 thoughts on “These Broken Stars

  1. I keep hearing AMAZING things about These Broken Stars. I have heard other people say that the beginning reminded them of Titanic. I have the book from the library right now. Hopefully I get to it soon. I just love the cover.

  2. THE TITANIC SINKS?! WHAAA.

    Anyway, Titanic what I though of, too, when I was reading the summary. Dr. Who did a sort of parody of Titanic that involved a space craft crashing…in space.

    Gonna go put this on my to-read list, now…

  3. I’ve seen the cover around, but hadn’t heard much about this book. I’m definitely adding it to my TBR and also going to check the library to see if they have 😉

  4. I didn’t really think about Titanic so much as I thought about the episode of Dr. Who when there’s a space ship called Titanic that “sinks” in space. Geeze I’m such a nerd. Regardless, this book was pretty stellar and I really enjoyed it! Glad you did too!

Leave a Reply

