Fracture Me

Fracture Me (Shatter Me 2.5) by Tahereh Mafi

fracture meAs Omega Point prepares to launch an all-out assault on The Reestablishment soldiers stationed in Sector 45, Adam’s focus couldn’t be further from the upcoming battle. He’s reeling from his breakup with Juliette, scared for his best friend’s life, and as concerned as ever for his brother James’s safety. And just as Adam begins to wonder if this life is really for him, the alarms sound. It’s time for war.

On the battlefield, it seems like the odds are in their favor—but taking down Warner, Adam’s newly discovered half brother, won’t be that easy. The Reestablishment can’t tolerate a rebellion, and they’ll do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam has ever cared about. (Goodreads)

Where Are We? If you’ve read Shatter Me, Destroy Me (novella), Unravel Me (be still my heart), then you need Fracture Me next, the last novella before the final installment, Ignite Me.

The Story:

This novella is written from Adam’s perspective. It takes place before they enter the battlefield but after Kenji has been injured (supposedly by Juliette) and after Warner has escaped (so, after Chapter 62, the holy grail of kissing scenes. I can hear angels singing in the background, can you?).

There’s really not a lot that happens here, honestly. This books gives you a glimpse into Adam’s mind, shows you his priorities, lets you into his fears about his brother, about Juliette, and the anger he feels toward Warner.

My Thoughts:

This one was pretty slow. Luckily it’s short, but if anything it took me from being a person who liked Adam and sympathized with him (while still maintaining my Warner love, obviously) to actually disliking him, if only briefly. On one hand, I loved his fierce devotion to his younger brother, but that was no secret. Adam has loved James all along–as he should–and this book only emphasized that point. To me, he had little empathy for Juliette though, and even seemed put off by how strangely she behaved or by the fact that, in his mind, she almost killed Kenji. More than that, I was bothered by his feelings toward Warner. I understand that he thinks he’s a ruthless man, I get that he believes Warner wants to harness Juliette’s power and use her as a weapon. While we know that isn’t true because we’ve read the first few books, I get that he doesn’t. BUT… I also know that Adam realizes Warner is his brother. That they are related (and therefore James is too) by a father, albeit a terrible one. I found it hard to believe that there wasn’t a shred of compassion there, not an ounce of anything but pure hatred. Shame on Adam. I thought he was a better guy, I guess.

Crush Intensity: 2/5 Maybe it’s the distinct lack of Warner, but I wasn’t in love with this book. You can easily skip it and read the final story without any real issue in the consistency of the storyline.

2 thoughts on “Fracture Me

  1. I totally agree with everything you said!
    I actually quite liked Adam in Shatter + Unravel Me, but this novella pretty much completely turned me off him. I thought that his thoughts towards Juliette were both condescending and unforgiving. It made me wonder if he really loved her at all – which it seemed he did prior to reading this novella.
    I didn’t mind, though. My heart belongs to Warner!

  2. Pingback: Ignite Me (please) | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

