What To Wear to a Harry Potter Birthday Party

Soooooo, my birthday is this month and lordy, it’s a big one. Like, there’s a four and a zero in there, which is super-weird because I totally remember when my parents were that age and man, I thought they were OLD.

But that’s not my point, really.

My point is, my birthday is Harry Potter themed. This is really all I know because my husband and Vee (the the evil genuis of amazing birthday parties) have planned it for me and a few of my dear friends. And most of it, other than the details on the invite, is a secret. This is what I know:

 

1. There is Harry Potterness- Is this a word, you ask? Why yes, I believe it is. My invitation came via owl mail, y’all. I KNOW. I mean, it was a super-cute balloon delivered by Miss Vee, and yeah, I almost cried because it was a little Hedwig.

Owl Mail

2. There are teams. And our teams are divided into houses. I am Gryffindor, nerd friends. My husband is Ravenclaw. Know what that means? If this is a competition, he will not be able to benefit from the nerd awesomeness of his wife because IT IS ON.

Hogwarts

3. There will be drinking. The party, which begins at my house  (referred to as platform 9 3/4. EEEEEE), starts with a cocktail hour. Not that I’m Frank the Tank or anything. It’s a rager if I’m having two drinks. BUT STILL. Cocktails make it seem more like a grown up party.

Platform 9

In summary, this will be the party every ten year-old boy (and me) wants, but with booze.

 

But I have to wear my team colors. And we’ll be out by the beach, so it will be slightly chilly (for Southern California. Work with me).

So here’s what I’m thinking:

Fitted White Ribbed Tank

Fitted White Ribbed Tank

Snug Bootleg Jeans

Snug Bootleg Jeans

Black, light-weave, 3/4 length sleeve boyfriend cardigan

Black, light-weave, 3/4 length sleeve boyfriend cardigan

 

Basic black ballet flats

Basic black ballet flats

 

Gryffindor Scarf

Gryffindor Scarf. Because yes, I have one.

 

Owl necklace. My ode to Hedwig (I looked for a lion, the mascot of Gryffindor, to no avail).

Owl necklace. My ode to Hedwig (I looked for a lion, the mascot of Gryffindor, to no avail).

I shall give you a party update next week!

 

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “What To Wear to a Harry Potter Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

