Things to Spazz Over in 2015

There’s all kinds of bookishness going on this year and like any nerd, I’m falling all over myself about most of it. The majority of it is related to real live hotly anticipated books, but some of it is related to films and event. It’s a feast for the book nerd in you.

 

Adorable

Adorable

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot (June 2015)- This is a major event in my life and I’m going to love it. I think we can all agree on that because my fake boyfriend, Michael Moscovitz is back. I am already swooning with anticipation. As Mia would say:

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Amiright?

 

23009402Saint AnythingSaint Anything- Um, you guys, Sarah Dessen has a new book coming out next year. ‘Nuff said.

 

The Raven Boys #4- THE LAST ONE. I’m already tearing up. If Gansey dies I’ll cut someone. Actually, if any of the characters I love dies I will lose it.

 

I was hereI Was Here by Gayle Forman- Love her. Can’t wait for anything new she writes.

 

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han- This is the sequel to To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. And I love Jenny Han.

 

 

 

 

Films:

Insurgent– I didn’t love the first movie but I appreciated two things:

  1. A fabulous YA book getting some actual cred
  2. Theo JamesFour

 

Mockingjay Part 2– I am constantly stunned at how well-done this film series has been. Of course, the books are always better, but the legions of young women who are hopefully being inspired to pick up one of these books, and better, to channel their inner kick-ass, is awe-inspiring.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children– With Time Burton at the helm and Asa Butterfield attached to play Jacob, I have high hopes for this one. The book was absolutely magical.

 

Eleanor and Park– This book gave me so many feelings. It snuck up on me in the most incredible way. I cannot wait for the movie.

 

The DUFF- I am SO interested to see what they do with this book. It was funny and crass. The trailer I’ve seen looks quite different, but I’m holding out hope here.

 

Paper Towns- It’s such a wonderful thing to see John Green, who was loved for years in our world, get his due in the film industry as well. This is my second-favorite Green novel (because TFIOS, you guys. It cannot be surpassed), and have already been charmed by the photos and updates Green shares regularly online. Fingers crossed here.

 

Suite Francaise- How I adored this book. Though it’s not YA, it is breathtaking and thoughtful and the story of how it came to be…it’s incredible. Based on the trailer, it looks as though the filmmakers chose to focus on the second part of the book (the novel is broken up into two books that are related only by circumstance), but it looks gorgeous.

 

 

Event:

 

Ya’ll West– Have you seen the list of authors here? I will be making a fool of myself, no question.

 

Festival of BooksLA Times Festival of Books– This event is always epic (and there’s a crepe truck, hello!)

 

Happy New Year Everyone!

8 thoughts on “Things to Spazz Over in 2015

  1. I am thinking the Paper Towns movie is going to be fantastic! I’ve seen a lot of shots from the set, and John Green’s vlogs from there and it seems like the actors are really into it and they fit the rolls really well.

    • I really think so. It’s been so long since I’ve read it but I just saw that they pulled a Sea World scene because of the whole Blackfish controversy. I don’t even remember that! I just remember really liking it. It was my first John Green.

  2. Wut, Eleanor & Park is being made into a movie? Didn’t know that. Now I’m wondering if I should go see that. Because, do I have any tears left.
    But I’ll definitely watch The DUFF! I tend to enjoy movies like that and although it appears to be different from the book it has been long enough so that I can’t remember the details anymore.

    • I can’t remember much about The Duff either. I mean, I think it’s crazy that they want to pass off beautiful Mae Whitman as the “Ugly Fat Friend” (putting her in overalls doesn’t do much), but I’m hoping it’ll be funny and snarky like Mean Girls. Plus, it’ll make more people read the book. I just saw a movie tie- in at Target of all places!

  3. Soooo many fun things happening this year! I’m particularly excited about Miss Peregrine’s being made into a movie. I loved the book and have been excited about a movie ever since I heard rumors of Tim Burton directing it! Yay! Obviously all the swoons will be had over the new PD book! Cannot wait for it!!!

    • We both know I’m beside myself over the new PD because of my darling fake boyfriend, Michael. Also, I’m pretty sure there is no one more perfect to direct Miss Peregrine than Tim Burton. I’m really excited about the casting of Asa Butterfield, too.

  4. I am SO beyond excited for the new Sarah Dessen book. It’s already been pre-ordered and everything. I didn’t absolutely love her last book but the synopsis of Saint Anything has me insanely interested and I’m pretty sure I’m going to fall in love with it once I can actually read it!

Leave a Reply

