Take Me On

Take Me On (Pushing the Limits #4) by Katie McGarry

Take Me On

Champion kickboxer Haley swore she’d never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can’t stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she’d stay away from. Yet he won’t last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it’s his fault his family is falling apart. He can’t change the past, but maybe he can change Haley’s future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they’ll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for. (Goodreads)

 

Haley’s family is struggling. They live with her uncle and cousin because her dad is out of work. They’ve lost their home and pretty much everything else and life is rough. As a former championship kickboxer, Haley now finds herself training West Young (brother to Rachel. That’s Rachel of Isaiah and Rachel, be still my heart). West got caught up in a tangle when trying to defend Haley to her abusive ex boyfriend and now he and said boyfriend—another boxer—are due to fight.

 

West and Haley have an obvious attraction to each other, but West is hiding who he truly is. He’s been kicked out of the Young home and forced to leave his fancy private school because of a strained relationship with his father. He wants to be there for Rachel as she recovers from her debilitating accident but he feels like the black sheep of the Young empire. Haley has no idea West comes from such a privileged background, and worse, she has no idea there is possibly a connection between the Youngs and her family’s troubles (you knew it right? There HAD TO BE). The two try to keep things professional, but their chemistry is undeniable and as they get deeper and deeper, West knows he has to tell Haley the truth. Either way, he knows he could lose her.

 

 

My Thoughts:

For me, nothing in this series will top Crash Into You. Apparently I have a thing for Isaiah. Seriously. I scoured this book for his name (he’s in there!). Still, all of the books in this series have been solid because Katie McGarry is so gifted in the art of writing sexual tension. She’s also pretty adept at writing an interesting bad boy. West isn’t your typical baddie because he’s not from the wrong side of the tracks, but he’s definitely somewhat destructive and willing to go against what the world expects of him. Haley, while from the rough part of town, is a sweet girl who cannot catch a break. I felt such compassion for her and a longing for her to find a way out of the nightmare of her life. That’s not all found in love, but I think love helps her believe there’s a better way and that’s a start.

 

This was a good story. Was it amazing? Not really, but I liked it. I enjoyed the will they or won’t they. I ate up the lingering glances and all the feelings. And I was chomping at the bit for some kissing. Here, McGarry does not disappoint.

 

Crush Intensity: 4/5 Not my favorite of the bunch, but a fun read all the same.

 

Where’d I Get It: The library

4 thoughts on “Take Me On

  1. I know, Crash Into You is my favorite! Isaiah and Rachel! I read Breaking the Rules, and even though it was mostly about Noah and Echo (both I love) I fell even more in love with Isaiah in that book, which I didn’t think was possible because I already love him so much.

    I liked this book, but it’s my least favorite of all Katie McGarry’s books.

  2. Pushing the Limits [and it’s sequel] will always be my favorite but Crash Into You is a very, very close second. Both are extremely relatable for me and I could just reread them over and over again forever. I liked Take Me On because Katie McGarry is brilliant at writing those kinds of books, as you said, but it wasn’t close to hitting the mark like my favorites. Still a really solid contemporary though. [:

    • I agree with you. I think on it’s own it’s a good book but when compared to the others it’s not my favorite. I’m interested in her new series. Pretty sure they’ll be some new crushes there!

Leave a Reply

