Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read During Halloween

by Tee

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.  This week’s topic is Top Ten Halloween reads.  In thinking about this post I’ve realized something.  I am a major sissypants.  I guess I just don’t read a ton of scary books!

1. The Enemy by Charles Higson– Oh this one was freaky town.  Zombies.  Zombies that want to eat cute little British kids who spend the whole book looking for safety.  Zombies who may be the formers neighbors, coaches, or parents of said British kids.  I mean, zombies are awesome, but when they want to eat your brains it’s scary.

2. The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright– Yeah back in the day this one scared the pee out of me.  I mean, scary dolls that live in a mini dollhouse of the house that the MC, Amy,  is living in?  Creepy. Oh, and they reenact a murder for Amy to feast her little eyes on?  I’d say that’s kinda scary.  My grade school self thought so (enough to read it over and over again).  It played on all those fears I had that my dolls came to life when I was away— or worse, that the scary clown my uncle gave me which that my mom forced me to keep on my bookshelf (thanks Mom!) may really have wanted to kill me in my sleep like that scary clown in Poltergeist. Just sayin.

3. Abandon by Meg Cabot– Yeah I’d say that a book about a lord of the underworld trying to kidnap a girl in the hopes of keeping her with him down there is all kinds of creepy (and kinda swoony, which is weird).  Of course, it isn’t scary, because it’s Meg Cabot and she’s funny and perfect as always, but the vibe in this one is slightly darker because the main character, Pierce, has actually died and come back to life.  Also John is dark, you know, because he deals with dead people all day.

4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs– This book is chock full of uber- creepy photos that the author has tied into the story.  The entire story isn’t scary, but there are great eerie moments of suspense and overall weirdness (which is scary. I like normal).  I love this book!

5. Across the Universe by Beth Revis- This book is like one big ‘ol episode of The Twilight Zone. I wouldn’t call it scary, but it’s definitely weird and creepy.

Honorable Mention: Well I would be remiss if I didn’t talk about The Princess Diaries or Michael Moscovitz on a weekly basis, right? In Princess in the Spotlight (Princess Diaries #2), Mia attends a Halloween showing of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.  She dresses as Glinda the Good Witch, but Kenny, Lilly and Michael (sa-woon!) are all there in costume as well. It’s at the very end, but it’s so cute.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read During Halloween

  1. Personally I don’t see anything wrong with talking about Michael Moscovitz. In fact, I don’t see why we can’t all take say at least one minute everyday to reflect on how awesome he is and what life would be like if he were real. 😛

  2. I’ve been wanting to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children for awhile and I almost bought it just because Halloween is coming up – it seems like the book equivalent to spending the night in a haunted building. Also, Abandon has been in my TBR pile forever – oddly I’d never thought of it as a scary story, but I guess when you’re dealing with the underworld it’s bound to be one.

    • Abandon is good, but it isn’t really scary. It has a creepy vibe because Pierce technically died and came back to life, but it still has the humor and fun writing that Cabot is known for. I liked it. Miss Peregrine is totally unique and the photos are SO creepy. That way the author incorporates them into the story is pretty ingenious.

    • Sometimes when I’m checking on my kids before I go to bed, I get freaked out and think one of their Disney Princess or American Girl dolls is going to slowly turn their head and give me an evil grin. Don’t tell anyone. It’s totally the ten year-old in me!

  3. Aaah! I remember The Dollhouse Murders. It scared the pee out of me, too, and yet I’d read it over and over. Man, we were nerdy, weird little kids.

Leave a Reply

