Top Ten Tuesday- Books I’d Take to a Deserted Island

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Books You’d Want on a Deserted Island (which is, of course, totally how I think. Books and chocolate and I’d be set).  This is actually a very tough topic because as much as I love to make lists, the idea of whittling down my favorites to only ten is practically impossible. So this list is based mainly on how these books make me feel. There are so many others I’d like to add, but TEN you guys, only ten (OK, I may have cheated a little).

1. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger– This is my all-time favorite book. No question about it.

Lookit…there’s the swoon.

2. Emma by Jane Austen– I love me some Pride & Prejudice and Darcy, but give me the folks at Hartfield and a good lecture from Mr. Knightly any day.

3. Forever Princess by Meg Cabot– Holy wow, I love this entire series, but since this is the final book and the Michaelness is so particularly lovely and Mia is so adorable and still so grown up, this is the book I’d have to choose as my favorite to read over and over again for all time.

4. Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling– Oh, this one is hard too. I love this whole series, especially The Prisoner of Azkaban and the last two books (and all of them), but the drama in this one killed me.  It was so excellent.

5. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– I could probably read this one every day forever and ever and never tire of this gorgeous, funny, incredible book.

6. Where She Went by Gayle Forman– I loved If I Stay as well, but if I had to choose a favorite of the two, it would be Adam’s story in WSW.  This book made my heart sing. It was breathtaking and romantic and sad and uplifting. It’s everything Mia and Adam’s story should be.

7. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness- Now, this may not be the happiest of books, but the relationship between Todd and Viola really impacted me.  This book was amazing.

8. Austenland by Shannon Hale– This is one of those books I can read a thousand times and still want to dive back in. It’s Austeny, it’s cute, it’s funny, it’s romantic. And it’s completely original.

9. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen– This is my favorite Dessen book. I could fall in love with these characters over and over again. Also, Wes.

10. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte- A book with drama (like a soap opera, only not cheesy), with romance and heartbreak and tragedy, and one of the most well-written heroines ever created.

11. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee– I can’t say enough how much I love this book. It surpasses everything you’ve ever heard and it has the man I think is the best literary character ever written (male or female), Atticus Finch.

12. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green- Beautiful, just beautiful. And funny and sad and so very romantic.

Have a great Tuesday!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books I’d Take to a Deserted Island

  1. what a hsock, we have a lot in common. HBP is my fave and I’d choose it, as well as WSW b/c they get the HEA. and of course, TFiOS. great list. i cheated, but I’m a cheater. I can’t pick just one.

  2. I chose HBP too! Definitely my favoirte of the series.
    I can’t believe I never read the Time Traveler’s Wife 😦 I only saw the movie. Oops.
    And of course I love Where She Went and The Sky is Everywhere ❤

  3. Forever Princess is like awsome I read all the series. I love it. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, one of the best books I’ve ever read. again read all the potter series.I’m going to read To Kill A Mockingbird soon, but I heard it’s a great book. Finally I loved the Faulkt In Our Stars. I totally agree with you on that one

Leave a Reply

