Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Characters For the End of the World

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week we get to choose our favorite characters in our chosen genre. While I normally love more contemporary stories, especially the swoony ones, I’ve noticed that I feel a pretty fierce attachment to certain characters from dystopic settings. Maybe it’s because they all sort of rock in their own way. Maybe it’s because their dire circumstances tug at my heart. More than likely though, these are the people I’d want by my side when the world turns dark (I mean, I’d be hiding in a corner, but I’d feel better knowing they’re out there being all bad-ass).

1. Todd & Viola- The Chaos Walking trilogy– I love these two equally, but for some reason it just didn’t seem right to list them separately. Their story is intertwined. Their fates overlap. And they have the most beautiful, deep, otherworldly kind of bond that’s hard to describe. Seriously, if you’ve not read this series you should really consider it. It is hands down my favorite dystopia and one of my favorite series ever.

2. Katniss, The Hunger Games trilogy– Now we know Katniss bugs me because she is so dumb about the whole Gale/Peeta situation, but I love what she does to save her little sister in the first book. I love that despite her fear she rises up and fights. Plus, she’s really good with her bow and arrow. Have you ever tried this? Archery is not as easy as it looks.

3. Gale, The Hunger Games trilogy- Oh, he’s another one that bugs. He was so stupid, dropping hints to Katniss about his feelings for her when, hello, she was so obviously clueless.  But as much as it probably hurt Gale to watch Katniss in danger during the games, and worse in fake love with Peeta in that cave, Gale manned up and took care of her family just like he promised to.  He was a true friend, through and through. And later, he became quite a force to be reckoned with. Plus, I can’t lie. I was pretty enthralled by Suzanne Collin’s insistence on always talking about how attractive he is. Call me shallow.

4. Peeta, The Hunger Games trilogy– My little butterfly baker, Peeta,  wasn’t necessarily the toughest guy in the room, but he had all the heart in the world and a huge drive to protect the girl he’s always loved. I’ve always loved his softness. He compliments Katniss in every way, smoothing out all of her rough edges.

5. Prince Maxon, The Selection– How adorable is this poor guy? He’s basically being auctioned off by his family in some game show spectacle where he’s supposed to choose a wife– only he doesn’t know how to tell which girls are serious and which are playing the game. Of course he’s drawn to the one girl who tells him she’s not interested. But they develop this cute little banter and this warm friendship, and the whole while I was thinking, Prince Maxon, you had me at hello.

6. Juliette, Shatter Me– I love this girl. She would do anything or risk anything if you asked her to. She’s that selfless. And, having been treated like a disease most of her life, she has no clue how absolutely incredible and gifted she is. I haven’t read Unravel Me yet, but I’m so excited to see where her story goes next.

7. Warner, Shatter Me– What is it about that naughty, evil man? I simultaneously want Juliette to rip his face off and kiss him. I can’t even explain it.  I just feel like there is so much more brewing beneath the surface there and that maybe he isn’t quite as bad as he wants us to believe. Or maybe he is. Either way, he’s hot.

8. Day, Legend– I love the idea of the bad guy who’s actually a good guy. The one who is a criminal because of the way society is structured–not because he’s inherently evil. In fact, he’s quite the hero, doing the things he’s done first to protect his family and second to try to right some of the wrongs out there. Day has the potential to be huge in my book.

9. Lena and Alex, Delirium– I love both of these characters. I’m listing them together because it’s when they fall in love that the story truly begins. Every word, every moment is beautiful. Heartbreaking.

10. Tris/Tobias, The Divergent series– Each of these two are equally fantastic, but again, I love them paired up. The story of each individually became that much more magnified when they finally came together, especially in the second book. I love that they fight and have tension because they’re both completely pig-headed, and I love the fierce way they love each other.

11. Honorable Mention: I was pretty intrigued by Julian from Level 2. He was bad, he was good, he was a martyr. He had an accent. There was something about him. I’ll be watching him with interest when book 2 comes out.

Happy Tuesday!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Characters For the End of the World

  1. you’re shallow and I love it. don’t ever change. i have to say I agree with most of your picks, though I haven’t read appx 1/2 of them…i really need to read shatter me, chaos walking, lege.nd, and the selection. love your reasoning for gale. of course, i was pulling for him the whole time because he’s hot. and i’ll be right there with you, cowering in the corner, letting Katniss kick ass for us.

Leave a Reply

