Mondays That Bite: Twilight Read-Along, Chapters 1-5

by Vee

For all that is good and Twilight.  Did someone just, like, ask the universe, “Universe. what could we do to make Vee’s life, like, awesome sauce?”  And the universe said, “Oh, I know, I know!  [Evidently the Universe is a smarty pants, know-it-all…] Re-read Twilight as a group and discuss amongst yourselves.”  For real?  Happy birthday to me!  (P.S. It’s not my birthday.)  And so, we begin with the first set of questions for the Monday’s That Bite read-a-long.  I’d love to send my personal thanks and devotion to fabu Ginger at GReads who came up with this idea!

Feel free to add your own thoughts in response to the questions posed…because Lord knows that Twilight issues are a heated topic. (I have my rotten-tomato-proof cyber vest on, so go ahead, it’s ok.)

1. Have you ever had to start over in a new place, like Bella did in Forks? This new place could be a school, job, or town… just something with a new setting. How easy or difficult was this for you? 

My “start over” moment was easier than it was for Bella, what without a bloodthirsty being trying not to kill me whilst he also professed his love and all.  I went from my neighborhood elementary school to a middle school that no one else I knew went.  It was a completely different setting going from a “regular” public school, to a private school for girls who were much more affluent than I.  (It was on a scholarship.)  It was definitely a learning experience and it took some adjustments but at the end of the day I can honestly say it was one of the best things that could have happened to me.  Once I stumbled upon the campus’ “Jane Eyre Fan Club”, I was aaaaaaalright.  OK, I didn’t really, but it was something like that.  Even back then, books saved me.

2. Do you picture the actors from the movie as the characters in the book while you are reading? 

Unfortunately for me, my brain was already biased.  I was convinced by my good pal Tee (yes this was all her fault, or so my beloved says) to read the books as the first promo photos for the movie were coming out.  So I will never know what “my” Edward looked like, though I will say, I am A-ok with the looks of the one that was cast.  And yes, that’s who I picture as I read.  And, physically speaking, that’s the Bella I picture (minus the lip biting, of course).  But Rosalie?  She’s supposed to be one of the most stunning women in the world. What happened?  Catherine Hardwicke, that crazy fool, thaz what.

3. What are your first thoughts on meeting Edward in Bella’s Biology class? At first he was annoyed by her presence, but then after a week away he returns & finds himself very interested in her. Do you think this helped or hindered the storyline? 

My first thought?  My first thought was:  “WTH?!?!?  What the flippity flap jack?”  I just couldn’t figure it out.  There wasn’t a clue in my head as to why he was so angry pants.  And it absolutely sucked me in from there.  There was certainly no turning back until I got to the bottom of that.  My opinion is tinted by the fact that I was one of the crazy people that went on to read “Midnight Sun” (the chapters released by Stephenie Meyer which was Twilight from Edward’s point of view) and so I think it is important to the storyline.  It’s confusing as crow though, I will admit.

4. Out of the secondary characters Bella meets at school, who is your favorite and why? (I am referring to the humans, not the vampires in this question.) 

If I am confined to picking a human: Angela, hands down!  Actually, Angela probably makes it to my top 5 even accounting for the vamps.

 5. There is a lot of dialogue between Edward and Bella in these first few chapters that I feel played a major role in developing their relationship. What are some of your favorite quotes? or moments? 

This is the singular reason why these books will always stay near and dear to my heart, despite any other nonsense (by which I mean all the hype, the Twi-crazies, the Twi-haters, so on and so forth).  I strongly believe this is why this book crossed so many generations in the crazay, it was the talking.  That’s how women fall in love…the talking, the banter, the feeling that this guy “gets you” where it counts: in your head.  Fav moments:

“Edward is staring at you again,” Jessica said, finally breaking through my abstraction with his name.  “I wonder why he’s sitting alone today.”  My head snapped up.  I followed her gaze to see Edward, smiling crookedly, staring at me from an empty table across the cafeteria from where he usually sat. 

Are everyone’s toes curled?  Just checking.

“Will you do something for me this weekend?”  He turned to look at me straight in the face, utilizing the full power of his burning gold eyes. 

I nodded helplessly.

“Don’t be offended , but you seem to be one of those people who just attract accidents like a magnet.  So…try not to fall into the ocean or get run over or anything, all right?”  He smiled crookedly. 

And one more for the road…

He glanced down at me from the corner of his eye, smiling wryly.  “I really don’t think I was invited.”

I sighed.  “I just invited you.”

“Let’s you and I not push poor Mike any further this week.  We don’t want him to snap.”

Let’s you and I…”  OMG, how much does a girl love to hear that phrase coming from her crush?  Just sayin.

For a list of next week’s questions, be sure to visit Lisa at Lisa is Busy Nerding and check back with us on Monday when we discuss chapters 6-10!

See? In my head...no lip biting, no awkward vampire, just banter and talkie, talkie. Oh, and some swooniness, but that comes later. Can't wait for chapters 6-10!!! ACK!

20 thoughts on “Mondays That Bite: Twilight Read-Along, Chapters 1-5

    • Aww, thanks Somer! I have to go check out other bloggers’ answers…with the 4th in the way, I was distracted. I am sure you have some interesting answers too, can’t wait to check them out! 🙂

    • Agreed Miss Vixen! 🙂 Though in the movie, I totally loved Jessica (in the book, 100% couldn’t stand the bish! Ha!)

    • I totally agree Yani! When reading the later dialogue between her and Bella I felt it would have served Bella well to have a few more of those convo’s with Angela during the other books. It might have moved the stories along more smoothly too, or even just offered an additional perspective about the vampires and how they are perceived by the humans? I don’t know, I guess at the end of the day what I am still just saying is, Angela is tot’s a fictional BFF for me. 🙂

  1. Wow!! love your answers.
    They are to cute and made me giggle. Love your since of humor.
    I love Angela too but I picked Mike because he is just to cute in these first couple of chapters.
    Love your blog.

    • If I had to pick the movie characters, I might actually be torn. Mike was HILARIOUS in the movie…definitely a fav. But my book Mike is pretty “meh”, if that makes sense. Bella’s puppy dog references probably didn’t help.

    • For the most part they work for me too, Lisa. Except, like I said Rosalie. I just can’t get aboard that train. I tried, really, I did. 🙂

  2. LOL- Catherine is a crazy fool, did you see Red Riding Hood…(TERRIBLE)…

    I cant see KStew as Bella, she just irks me in that role, but I think she does her a little better as the movies go on…

    • I refused to see Red Riding Hood…it had everything to do with her! I won’t forgive her, I simply won’t. Twilight could have been such a better movie. And before I go off, I will choose to control myself but I’ll say this much: WHERE is the blood typing scene? WHERE?????? Sigh.

Leave a Reply

