Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Reread

by Tee

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and The Bookish.  Our subject today? Top ten books I want to read again.  Now this is a tough question.  I’m a serial rereader.  It’s what I do, partly because I get so excited when I read a good book that I read it too quickly and miss alot of details, but mostly because I want to feel the rush again.  It’s like falling in love (only with a book, so it’s kind of sad really).  Here are the few that came to mind:

1. Where She Went by Gayle Forman– That’s right.  Because I didn’t slobber all over it enough here, I need to devour it one more time.  (Note to Vee—who has my copy which I assume she is lovingly cuddling every night at bed as I would— my heart is breaking a little.  My love and I cannot be parted much longer.  I mean, I miss you and all, but I really miss Adam and Mia. And Adam.)

2.Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski– You guys, I know I really need to review this, but it’s one of those books where I loved it so much I’m just at a loss for words.  It was so clever and funny that I know I could never be clever or funny enough to clearly convey its awesomeness.  Obviously this means I must revel in it again.

3. I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan– Whoa, this one slammed me in the heart. It was that amazing.  Have you read this?  If not, go buy it or check it out, LIKE NOW.  There was a painful sweetness to it that I want to savor again.

4. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– I know I talk about this book all the time.  Know why?  Because it’s pretty much perfect.  Did you see everything I just typed up there on numero tres (for you who are not as clearly bilingual as me—I watch Dora—number three)?  Ditto.

5. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare– Gosh these are good but holy wow, there is ALOT happening here.  I feel like I could read them again and discover things I missed the first time around. Also, there can never be too much Jace.

6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins– Because this book is like a big hug. And outside of its total cuteness, there is alot of talk about French food (at least, this is how I remember it) and Girl Scout cookies.  Food always makes me happy.

7. We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han– I absolutely adore the Summer books.  When this one arrived I was freaking out because Vee read it before me.  This is all wrong in my universe.  I recommended these books to her.  There was no way she was supposed to know what happens with Belly and Jeremiah and Conrad without me.  It’s wrong, I tell you! Wrong! (And of course, she gleefully gloated about this, having finished the book twenty-four hours earlier. She said, “Oh this is fun! Now I know how you feel!”). Anyway, I was in such a rush to get our discussion on, that I tore through it without truly savoring the fact that it was the end.

8. Across the Universe by Beth Revis- I need to reread this because there is a whole lot of crazy shizz that goes down here and my life is blissfully boring in comparison.

9. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart– We talk about Frankie alot, don’t we?  It’s because she’s awesome and she totally inspires me.

10. The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling– I love these books, but I’ve only actually read the entire series once.  I stayed away while waiting for the rest of the movies to come out because I didn’t want to be one of those people in the theater who was all, “That battle didn’t happen in the courtyard it happened in the dining hall FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!” or “He doesn’t kiss Ginny in the Room of Requirement! He kisses her in the Gryffindor common room, people!!!!!” (I may have actually said that one). Forgetting details is crucial to my enjoyment of any movies based on good books, even films as amazing as these.  But now it’s time to dust these puppies off and do it all over again.

HONORABLE MENTION: It goes without saying (or, not really because here I am saying it) that I constantly reread The Princess Diaries series and proceed to laugh my arse off.  They never get old for me. Never! Also, um, they have this character, Michael Moscovitz, whom I love more than should ever be considered normal.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want to Reread

  1. I want to own a copy of Ten Things We Did. I’ve missed it since it went back to the library. I adored Dean and the drag show Vi organized.

    And Hudson, the babysitting savior of animals! *swoon*

    • YES!!! I love that one. It was so funny. And can we talk about the cover because the girl and guy and the way they’re looking at each other…it makes me feel a little melty inside (and, um, how often can you really say that about a YA cover?).

  2. ooh, i should have put “where she went” on mine. it was so good. princess diaries, too. but i had to add some adult books. and hearing about you always going on (and on and on 🙂 ) about Frankie, i think i need to reread that one too. great list, as usual. go check gone pecan’s out!

    • It’s not as sad, I promise. There are definitely moments that are tough, but mostly it’s just SO GOOD that I wanted to cry (and did, profusely). The end is so satisfying. If you liked If I Stay you should definitely check it out. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I always feel that way, like everyone has read everything I want to read or things I’ve never even heard of yet. As far as the honorable mention, it just feels wrong to not talk about The Princess Diaries or Michael Moscovitz at least once a day. 🙂

  3. Great list, as always. You know, my sister and I have yet to read ANY Meg Cabot books, so I hope you’ll still be our Twitter pal after finding out that shameful fact. And what’s the deal with the Sarah Mlynowski book — everyone has it on their list! We share a deep and abiding love for The Sky Is Everywhere. I even reread it after my son decided to play the clarinet last week 😉
    If you want to check out my list it’s at Teen Lit Rocks (pardon the lack of design, my friend the graphic designer hasn’t finished the header yet).

    • Of course we’re still Twitter pals!!! I will keep pushing Meg Cabot on you though BECAUSE SHE’S AWESOME! 🙂 I feel like I constantly blab about The Sky is Everywhere, but you get it see? It’s just so beautiful and sad and funny and perfect, I can’t forget it.

Leave a Reply

