Top Ten Tuesday- Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. You guys, this week they want me to make bookish confessions about myself. Ugh! I already embarrass myself enough as it is what with my Michael Moscovitz obsession (I really love him. I do) and my penchant for stalking people in bookstores. But now I get to tell you more.

1. Sometimes I skim. And by sometimes I mean a lot. Like anytime I’m bored. Every now and then I have to go back and reread portions because I miss major events.

2. I start. I stop. I start again. With some books this happens many times and I end up loving the book anyway and wonder why I couldn’t get through it the first time.

3. I love books without serious issues and with lots and lots of swoony kissing.

4. I’m always waiting for the kissing to start (see#3 above).

5. I read and reread the sexiest, swooniest, kissiest parts over and over again. (Are you sensing a pattern here?)

6. Sometimes I call Vee and discuss the passages in #5.

7. I dog ear pages.

8. I’ve been known to check out books from the library two or three times, never read them but still manage to return them late.

9. Sometimes, when I get really engrossed, I get annoyed when I get interrupted (like by the phone or people who want dinner on the table)

10. I’d rather read than sleep.

11. The bathtub is the best reading spot, but anywhere will do.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Confessions

  1. I’m a skimmer too! I get too excited lol.
    I also get really upset when people interrupt my reading! My boyfriend does that a lot. I try to be nice to him, but sometimes I ignore him ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Oops. He should know better than to interrupt my reading!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Girl, I love me some swoony times too! You know that scene in My Big Fat Greek Wedding when the aunt goes “What do you mean he don’t eat no meat?!” I sometimes feel like saying that (in the thick Greek accent) “What do you mean this book don’t got no kissing?!” when I get more than halfway through and there hasn’t been any kissy times. Books should have kissy times. Period.

  3. #8!!! You are not alone. This has happened to me more times than I want to admit. $10 fine on a book I didn’t read? Yeah, that happened.

    Great confessions, and thanks for sharing!

  4. Hooray for swoony times! Obviously i’m totally on board with numbers 3, 4, and 5! It seems like i’m always waiting for the kissing to start too. Especially when i’m reading chick-lit and i’m already going in to the book expecting it. Major fail when it happens like 2 chapters before the end. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I skim, dog-ear, check out books and don’t read them, AND I also love to read in the tub! Great post, check out mine if you’d like, too.

  6. I’ve been guilty of skimming a time or two myself so you’re definitely not alone. I’ve only dog-eared a book a time or two though. I’m a huge collector of bookmarks so I almost always have one on hand. :]

  7. Ahhh I see the pattern! And girl, I am a total “where are the kissing parts?!” type of person too! Sometimes I feel shallow about it, but more often than not I find myself looking at summaries to see if there’s some swoon-action to be had. We are both romantics at heart and there is NOTHING wrong with that!

    For some lovely lovely swoonage I think you need to get Eleanor & Park. It’s out in the UK (I got it via Fishbond) but it doesn’t come out in the US til Feb/Mar of next year. It’s the swooniest little YA book I’ve read in a long, long time.

    And now I’m wondering if there’s a post on your blog with The Best Kissing/Swoony Scenes ever so I’m off to hunt. =)

Leave a Reply

