Top Ten Tuesday- Childhood Favs

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week is a freebie topic. Woot! I love that. I can’t wait to see what everyone has chosen. For me, I’d like to go back to where it all began:  Childhood Favorites.

Surprisingly, I did not come from a family of readers. I was a nerd loner in my house (only child).  My grandmother, on the other hand, was a huge reader, b book a day, within an hour or two. And she loved her bodice-rippers and Danielle Steel–books that, to this day, still make me giggle with their descriptions of nipples and male body parts. I’m just not mature enough for it. Anyway, my grandma and my parents  always encouraged me to read and constantly took me to the bookstore and somehow a nerdypants book lover was born.

1. Superfudge by Judy Blume– I think I’ve confessed before that I already thought Peter was pretty darn cute.  What did I know? But, I loved this book. I loved it even more than its predecessor, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing. Superfudge is so funny and is often referred to as the book that spoils the Santa secret.  Ooops.

2. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak- I loved it as a kid and I can still recite it from the years spent reading it to my children every single night. Max and his bedroom antics were truly magical to me.

3. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl– Oh, to find a book that makes me feel the way this one always did.  There is such humor, such magic in each of Dahl’s books, but none more than this one.  Even the films couldn’t recreate the incredible, whimsical images he created in my mind.

4. Sweet Valley High by Francine Pascal– I know.  But don’t tell me you didn’t read them and hate on Elizabeth and Jessica–those blonde haired, blue-eyed, all-American brats– the same way I did.  It was like a bad soap opera and I just couldn’t help myself.

5. The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright– Scared the pants off me.  Dolls. That move on their own. And try to solve a murder. But I must have read this book fifty times (and probably thought I was super-brave for it).

6. Otherwise Know As Sheila The Great by Judy Blume– I had a boxed set of Judy Blume books, complete with the Fudge books, Blubber, Are You There God It’s Me Margaret and this little gem about Sheila. I honestly can’t remember what this book was about but I remember reading it over and over because I thought it was funny as heck.  Judy Blume was such a huge part of my childhood.

7. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein– What a beautiful, lovely book. It only resonates more with me now that I have children. I still read it to my Girl Scouts, even the older ones (and they love it!).

8. How The Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Suess– Well, we know that his head isn’t screwed on quite right and that his heart is two sizes too small, but man I love that Grinch.  That story never, ever gets old. No Dr. Suess story does!

9. The Mouse and The Motorcycle by Beverly Clearly– I was totally enraptured with the idea of a mouse who rode a motorcycle. I can’t explain it. Plus it was Beverly Clearly. Her books were like gold to me.

10. The Ramona Books by Beverly Clearly– Oh, ditto. Ramona was such a cute, loveable brat. To this day I’m still tempted to sing the National Anthem with the words “dawnzer lee light.”

11. The Anastasia Books by Lois Lowry– Didn’t Anastasia try to get a job as a maid by dressing up as an old lady, complete with fake boobs and gray hair? Inspiring. I loved this series.

Have a great Tuesday!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Childhood Favs

  1. great list. i know i probably read some of the beverly cleary & judy bluem books, but i don’t remember them. i def remember the twins & read several of those. the books i really remember from childhood are the historical biographies for kids, like Johnny Appleseed and Thomas Jefferson, cause even as a child, I was a nerd. 🙂

  2. LOVE YOUR LIST! I’m pretty sure I had a crush on Peter from the Fudge series as well!! Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing… yeah he was a cutie, in my elementary school head anyway! I LOVED the Dollhouse Murders and completely forgot about that book!! Thank you so much for reminding me!! Sweet Valley High was also one of my favs! I did this topic in July here was my childhood favs: http://pinkpolkadotbookblog.blogspot.com/2012/06/top-ten-tuesday.html
    And here’s My TTT this week 🙂

  3. Great list! I did a similar topic. Gosh, I love Where the Wild Things Are. After all these years, I can’t think of a picture book I like more. And I know lots of picture books. I haven’t read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but I love Roald Dahl. Matilda is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

