Crazy: The Cartoon Edition

by Tee

This post really has nothing to do with YA, except that it’s about swooniness which means that IT HAS EVERYTHING TO DO WITH YA BECAUSE IT’S ABOUT SWOONINESS!!!!!

We’ve been talking lately about the hottest cartoon heroes ever (doesn’t everyone do this as it’s vitally important, sort of like making a list of your fav fictional boyfriends and lamenting the fact that they are, in fact,  not real?).  So we were all, hey, what the heck. Let’s pull a Mia and Lilly and make a stinking list already (for those of you who don’t know who Mia and Lilly are, I would chastise you,  since you clearly you don’t get this reference because you haven’t read The Princess Diaries, the most awesome sauce book series ever,  but I can’t really judge.  We all have our issues).

Come on guys.  You know you’ve watched these movies with your kiddos and been like, dayum.  Princess So and So scored herself a stud.  So without further babbling, here is our list, complete with commentary:

Flynn Rider from Tangled. He's gonna do the smolder.

Tee:  Oh yeah.  I love this guy.  The hubs claims he invented the smolder though, so they need to have themselves a smolder-off.  And sidenote: diggin’ the hair.

Vee: Dude, I hang my head in shame.  Despite numerous attempts, foiled by fate, I have yet to enjoy me some smolder look.  And MFEO, you know how I be feeling about the smolder…a.k.a. stink eye.  I must agree, that hair is righteous.  This movie on my to-watch list this weekend!

Tee:  WHHAAAAT!!!!???? For shame!  You are missing out on some serious adorableness.  He’s naughty, he’s funny, he’s cute. Oh and he and Rapunzel make googly eyes at each other because they’re in luuuurrve.  Sa-woon.

Prince Edward from Enchanted

Tee:  Dumber than a doorknob, but super-handsome.  I mean, he wants to do the whole chivalry bit, which is cute.

Vee:  OMG, Prince Edward.  HA!  It’s just that, in all his dumb and dumberness, he makes you laugh, and then he smiles his “there’s an echo in mah head” smile, and looks at you with those clear blue eyes, and you’re toast.  At least I was.

Tee:  (sighs)  Plus he was a good sport after losing his woman to McDreamy (who will always be the cute nerd from Can’t Buy Me Love. Always! I mean he loved Cindy despite the fact that she was s snob who wrote really bad poetry).  Cheers to Edward!

The Beast from Beauty and the Beast. I mean he starts like this...

but he ends up like this.

Tee:  I like that he’s not perfect, but he needs to lose the mullet.

Vee:  Ok, this is where my crazy is fo sho revealed…I like him better as the Beast.  Maybe it’s because he looks more manly that way than with the orange mullet.  Just sayin’.

Tee:  I don’t even want to think about what the sexy times would be like before the transformation.  Hairy, I guess.   No, I’ll take the mullet.

Prince Eric from The Little Mermaid

Tee:  Oh sigh.  Mr. E was my biggest cartoon crush until Flynn Rider dethroned him (please see “smolder”).  Now that I’m looking at my former love, I think he has the crazy eyes, sort of like Damen on The Vampire Diaries.  But I like.  I like very much.  Just, them eyes are crazy.  Thazz alls I’m sayin.

Vee: Um dude, he is falling in love at first sight!  Not crazy eye, eyes of loooooooove.  And thing is, real life translation, jet black hair, sea blue eyes – hello!  You know who has those same features?  Superman.  Thaz right.  How can you go wrong with that?  But I digress into Superhero Swoonies…totally diff topic.  Any prince who takes you on a magical row-boat ride where one amazingly talented crab puts together a show just so he can kiss you is the prince for me.  Wow, I never realized I was that passionate about my Little Mermaid.  Ok, that’s a total lie.  I so did.

Tee:  SUPERMAN!!! Oh, double swoon. And now I have images of Henry Cavill, who is playing Superman in the next movie.  This is never a bad thing. Also…I forgot to mention.  Prince Eric had a nice speaking voice.  We know how I feel about nice voices.  Swoon City! And also, OF COURSE HE WAS FALLING IN LOVE WITH HER!  SHE WAS NEKID!!!

Prince Phillip from Sleeping Beauty

Tee:  Dude he sings, dances and fights dragons? Sign me up.  He does look kinda dorky with the hat though.

Vee: DUDE!  My first favorite Disney a) movie, b) princess and c) prince.  Please let us not forget that this dude is also funny – and like in a sarcastic way.  Little Vee saw that kind of humor – his droll exchanges with the horse just about killed me – and I was never the same again.  This man fights one mean bish to get the girl then whisks her away to a fancy pants ball where he dances with her in fancy clothes?  Where do I sign up?

Tee:  In Maleficent’s defense, bish was green.  She had reason to be cranky.  I mean, she could have worn a hat to cover the horns (Prince Phillip has one she could borrow) because you can cover pointy horn thingies but you can’t cover her frog look.  Also, Phillip is funny with his horse?  I so do not remember this.  Must re watch.

Captain Shang from Mulan

Tee: All I can say is “!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”  And also, SHAZAM!

Vee: Dude.  I knooooooooooooooow.

Tee:  That song, Let’s Get Down to Business is totally stuck in my head now. Just sayin.

Vee: Really?  I can help with that.  Sha, la, la, la, la, la, don’t be shy, come and kisssss da guuurrrl!  Thaz right.

Tee:  Great!  That one was in my head for about one solid year when Child #1 insisted on watching The Little Mermaid every single day.  Thanks friend.

27 thoughts on “Crazy: The Cartoon Edition

  1. you guys kill me. all i get to watch are boy movies. although, i do remember all of the above (cause mulan is a boy movie, right?). i’ve sunk to new lows. i’ve bought tangled (which Jaxon did not like, i guess since there are no cars in it…), i’ve bought beauty & the beast because i used to babysit a little boy who watched it 20 times a day, i’ve bought snow white because, duh, it’s a classic. i just never get to watch them! now i’m gonna have to go buy cinderella. (cinderelly, cinderelly…)

    • Daph, do what I do (I have two boys), I just tell them, “what’s the big deal? It’s a cartoon!” And um, bribe them with ice cream and pop corn on the couch – that ALWAYS works, cuz I never let them eat on the couch usually. And for the record, my boys loved “Enchanted”. Course, their fav part is when Prince Edward gets run over by a bike, but I gotta say, I love that part too! Oh, and the Enchanted soundtrack? Perhaps the best soundtrack EVERRRR! “The Working SOng”? Heaven.

      • Prince Edward getting run over is my fav part! “I’ve been dreaming of a true love’s kiss.”” and then KABLAM. This is further proof that your boys are my mini mfeos.

  2. Tee, you so right: a) LM was tot’s nekid, b) Yea, never imagined kissing a hair beast, in my imagination it was more like, oh my BFF could tot’s date this monster looking thing and I’d be happy for her (so evidently, you’d be dating a hairy beast), c) on the whole singing LM songs, you’re welcome. 😉

    • Oohhh that’s a good question!!! Off the top of my head, I like Gaston (Beauty and the Beast). I know he’s awful and he’s as dumb as they come, but he’s undeniably cute. I wouldn’t call him swoonworthy though. I can’t think of anyone else. What about you Jenn? Any come to mind?

      • No one’s slick as Gaston
        No one’s quick as Gaston
        No one’s neck’s as incredibly thick as Gaston’s
        For there’s no man in town half as manly

        and

        No one’s got a swell cleft in his chin like Gaston

        and

        And ev’ry last inch of me’s covered with hair

    • Oh Jenn…love this question! See, my brain is wired in such a way that personality and character utterly shape how I feel about someone’s “attractiveness” so I could never really be a good judge of that. Though I agree with T…as we all know Gaston is allegedgly quite the physical specimen, I just cannot stomach him. So at the end of the day, I’d have to pick the robot thing from Wall-E because at least he’s super smart. 😉

  3. Such an awesome post! i must confess that after watching Tangled for about the 100th time, i too am in love with Flynn (or should i say Eugene Fitzherbert!)
    i also have to admit that i like the Beast in his beastly form better than as a human. i don’t know why either.
    i LOVED Prince Eric when i was little! He was totes my boo. That movie was my fave for probably 5 years in a row. Plus i loved that he had a dog.
    But why didn’t Aladdin make the cut? He’s got a genie AND a magic carpet AND a monkey! Monkey is probably the only pet that could trump a dog.

    • I have a weird aversion to Aladdin (the movie itself, not the character). I think because I thought Jasmine should have just married him despite the stupid laws but she was all, “oh, it’s so sad I can’t marry you.” It’s a lame reason not to like that story, I’ll admit.
      I was remembering today that one of my fav Prince Eric moments is after they’re married and he bows to King Triton in his cute, gentlemanly way while we hear “Now we can walk, now we can run, now we can stay all day in the suuuuuuuuun,”. Oh that part gets me every time!

    • Hmmm…Prince Aladdin? Good point, he’s a looker. I dunno. Though I will say, Genie…not a bad candidate either. Dudes that are funny always my weak point. Even if it’s bi-polar funny. Plus, at the end when he got his freedom back, he was on his way to Disneyland. And I just LOVE Disneyland. It’s my mothership.

  4. Um, Tee, dude, our people get our lists. This is very encouraging. Do you know what this means? We don’t have to list-make in a dark corner anymore. We can just share it with the world! This is the best day everrrrrr.

  5. Lol! This post is epic and this list is pure awesomeness! Yes to Flynn, the Beast, and Shang, I loved them. Those lucky Disney heroines, haha. This makes me so want to rewatch my favorite Disney movies. 😀

  6. Am I the only one who thinks Jim from Treasure Planet deserves a spot on this list? He is totally swoon worthy, and the fact that no one mentions a girl in the film makes him available! (Yes, I kind of have a tiny crush on him. But just a little one.) And Hercules, where is he? I know that he isn’t a looker (at least I don’t think so), but he is totally charming and goofy and all those adorable things. Flynn and Eric is perfect for this list though, and I am a total Disney-lover(as well as a big fan of this blog. Love it!)

    A lot of love from Sweden!

    • I’ve never seen Treasure Planet, but I just checked out the online images and um yeah, he’s a cutie. Clearly I need to talk my kiddos into watching this film pronto. And you know, I thought about Hercules when we were making the list. He’s kind of adorably dorky, but he didn’t make the cut because I prefer the dark-haired men (Prince Phillip made the cut because Vee loves him, but I don’t even think his hair is dark enough). I’d say Herc is def a runner-up though!
      Thanks for reading!!!! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Entwined « YA Crush

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books that Make Me Giggle « YA Crush

  9. Pingback: TGIF- August 17 Pimp My Blog « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

