Happy Birthday to The Selective Collective (and Giveaway)!

SCnewbanner

Well, it’s been one year since my blogging besties and I started this amazing feature we like to call The Selective Collective.  Throughout these 12 months we have read some great (and not so great) books, fell in love with some new (or new to us), authors, and had some awesome chats. We’ve always had epic e-mail threads as it is, but in our SC posts there’s some direction (so, less articles about Henry Cavill’s abs and the funny things that happen throughout our day and more book talk).

I love these ladies and am so humbled to be in cahoots with them. The each have flawless taste, such perfect insight (they always point out things to me that I would have otherwise missed) and they make me laugh so hard. Seriously, I look like a crazy person sometimes, laughing out loud in the middle of grocery shopping because one of them has just sent me a funny text or e-mail. That has been the best part of this feature for me: to work alongside my friends.

Outside of that, we’ve had some stellar books come our way. There have been some insanely cute ones, the ones I want to wrap up with a bow and share with everyone I meet. Some of those favorites are:

Going Vintage by Lindsey LeavittGoing Vintage

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Nerd Book

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

Meant to Be

Oh and then there were the books that made me cry and swoon and fall in love in a different way than the ones above. It was as if they broke my heart and put it all back together again in the span of those pages. Most notably:

The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler

Book of Broken Hearts

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

E&P

We’ve had a chance to work with some great publishers, all whom have given away copies of these books not only to us for review but to our readers each month, and we’ve been able to chat with the really wonderful authors behind the books.

It’s been such a  great year. To celebrate, this week we’ll each be sharing a birthday post and hosting a giveaway.

Tuesday- Kristina & Daphne @ Gone Pecan

Wednesday- Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

Thursday- Candice @ The Grown Up YA

Friday- Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

YA Crush SC Giveaway:

Meant to BeLOVEF It List

Win these three books. It’s pretty simple. Just be your awesome self. Enter once by leaving a comment below (please include your e-mail) and tell me the number one person you talk to about books (your bestie, the librarian, Goodreads, bloggers, random people at Barnes & Noble). The contest closes at 9pm PST on Monday, November 4. US residents only, please. The winner will will be notified via e-mail. If they do not respond within 48 hours, a new winner will be chosen.

Good luck!

16 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to The Selective Collective (and Giveaway)!

  1. I don’t have anyone specific I talk to about books. Sometimes I’ll rant to my boyfriend who doesn’t really read that much about a book I’m reading or just finished. If I finish a book I know my best friend will really like ill bug her to read it until she finally does (she reads but not that often). And then well get to talk about it or I’ll read the book at the same place she is reading and get excited because I know exactly what’s going to happen (and it’s actually really great).

  2. Let’s be honest here, who don’t I talk to about books? As a high school reading teacher, I literally spend every day of my life talking about books… and I couldn’t be more happy about it. I love the YA genre and luckily so do my students! It’s amazing because I actually get paid to talk about something that I am head over heels in love with. All day. Every day. It’s incredible. Aside from my poor, unsuspecting students, I have a really smart and mature 10 year old niece. She likes to read YA books too, so we often bond over our love for certain characters (cough-Wes Baker-cough) and our distain for others. I am also the proud writer of a blog no one reads, so I can write about books all I want without annoying anyone! I can’t honestly answer the “one” person I talk to most about books because I seriously talk to every person I know about books. Yes, I know, I am that girl. I am that book nerd.

    lindsayhahn12@yahoo.com

  3. Yay!!!! So glad we all started this feature and it’s brought us together! I consider you to be one of my bestest friends and cannot wait to see what the next year brings us all!

  4. Happy anniversary you guys!! I’ve loved reading your posts over the months. I definitely talk to my blogger friends about books the most. I have a lot of blogger friends IRL, so most of our conversations revolve around books. I talk to my other friends about them too, even though they don’t read very often. I just like to talk about books no matter who I’m with haha

    tigerlilyrachel at gmail 🙂

  5. I talk to my friends Lili and Valerie (fellow blog-runners) several times a week. My husband is probably a close second, though. We often listen to the same audio book while at work so we discuss it at home.

  6. Guilty of ooverloading my husband with book knowledge. The really good books and the really frustrating ones.

    Aldm257(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. My #1 person?? Oh man, this is hard. I’m a book blogger: I naturally talk to a billion people about books, but I’ll narrow it down 😉

    I talk to my twin sister a lot about books, and then probably to friends second most(then bloggy friends is next).

    And thank you for the wonderful giveaway!

    P.S. Almost forgot to mention happy anniversary! 😀

  8. My daughter is now 12 years old and loves reading all types of YA books so she is the person I now talk to the most! It makes me really happy to be able to share my love of this genre with her 🙂

  9. I probably talk to my mother-in-law the most. Because she actually reads a lot of the books I recommend for her and then we get to talk about them. My husband or my brother or sister would tie for second, but they rarely read the books that I recommend.
    cillianagatha(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Pingback: The Selective Collective One Year Anniversary!

  11. I talk to two of my best friends about books. We all have different taste in books so we are always recommending something new for everyone to try. I have gotten both of them to read lots of YA 🙂
    Thanks for the great giveaway!
    letty1614(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

