What’s Happenin Hot Stuff?

by Tee

One of the most romantic moments in cinematic history—or at least one of the funniest.

I don’t know about you, but I love me some dorky times whilst reciting  my favs romantic movie lines and book passages.  I watch Love, Actually and Pride and Prejudice over and over (Two words: Colin Firth) and get all choked up over the sweetness of it all.  And then I pull out my most beloved books and re-read all the dog-eared sections and have a girly sigh.  How often do I do things like this?    Practically every day (ok, not quite that often because there isn’t enough time, what with my children needing to be fed and helped with homework and all).  No matter how many times I go over those scenes in my mind, I still end up thinking, “Yes. This is it.  This is the moment.” Whether the characters are on the verge of something big or are having a cringeworthy time,  for me it all reaffirms that love—even the fictional kind— can be breathtaking and beautiful and being an audience to it can  still be a pretty swoony experience. And even though my husband may not be a Shadowhunter or Stalker Vampire (I had to say it Vee. Had to), like most people, I feel these moments are similar to ones we’ve lived in our own life together.  That’s why I love them.

Here are some of my favorite romantic book quotes ( I mean, this is in no way all of my favorites—just the ones I’ve been wandering through lately):

1.  Jace Wayland to Clary Fray (City Of Glass)

“There is no pretending,” Jace said with absolute clarity.  “I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there’s a life after that, I’ll love you then.”

2. Michael & Mia (Princess in Love)

Michael reached out and grabbed both my shoulders.  “Mia,” he said, giving me a little shake.  “It doesn’t matter.  What matters is that I meant what I wrote. And I thought you did too.”

I didn’t think I could have heard him right.  I went, “Of course I meant it.”

He shook his head.  “Then why did you freak out like that at the Carnival?”

I stammered, “Well, because…because…I thought …I thought you were making fun of me.”

“Never,” he said.

And that’s when he did it.

No fuss.  No asking my permission. No hesitation whatsoever.  He just leaned down and kissed me, right on the lips.

3. Captain Wentworth to Anne Elliot- (Persuasion)

via that lovely lost art called letter writing. 

I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own, than when you almost broke it eight years and a half ago.  Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death.  I have loved none but you.

4. Adam to Mia (If I Stay)

He pulled the car off onto a logging road and turned to me.  “Mia, Mia, Mia,” he said, stroking the tendrils of my hair that had escaped from the wig.  “This is the you I like. You definitely dressed sexier and are, you know, blond, and that’s different.  But the you who you are tonight is the same you I was in love with yesterday, the same you I’ll be in love with tomorrow.  I love that you’re fragile and tough, quiet and kick-ass.”

5. Mr. Rochester to Jane (Jane Eyre)

I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you, especially when you are near me, as now; it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame.  And if that boisterous channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapped; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.”

6.  Taylor Markham and Jonah Griggs (Jellicoe Road)

…when I need to stop for air, Jonah Griggs is there and he takes my hand and leads me through the crowd until we’re outside.

I take deep breaths, looking at the town stretched in front of me.  When I turn around, he cups my face in his hands and he kisses me so deeply that I don’t know who is breathing for who, but his mouth and tongue taste like warm honey.  I don’t know how long it lasts, but when I let go of him, I miss it instantly.

7. Anna and St. Clair- at the movies (Anna and the French Kiss)

There.  He glanced at me.  I know he did.

I bore my eyes into the screen, trying my best to prove that I am Really Interested in this movie.  St. Clair stiffens but doesn’t move his leg [it’s touching Anna’s].  Is he holding his breath?  I think he is.  I’m holding mine.  I exhale and cringe—it’s so loud and unnatural.

Again.  Another glance.  This time I turn, automatically, just as he’s turning away.  It’s a dance, and now there’s a feeling in the air like one of us should say something.  Focus, Anna.  Focus.  “Do you like it?” I whisper.

He pauses. “The film?”

I’m thankful the shadows hide my blush.

“I like it very much,” he says.

I risk a glance, and St. Clair stares back.  Deeply.  He has not looked at me like this before.  I turn away first, then feel him turn a few beats later.

I know he is smiling, and my heart races.

Awww. Say it with me: Le sigh.

11 thoughts on “What’s Happenin Hot Stuff?

  1. Oh my stars! I am swooning here at work. I’m glad I have my own office with blinds that I can close so no one can be party to this.

    thanks Tee. I really needed that today. I think I smiled bigger and bigger with each one remembering the little (read: HUGE) butterflies that landed in my stomach the first time I read some of those lines.

    <3!
    LiLi

    PS– You are wearing me down little by little to go and read the Princess Diaries series. 😉

    • Li Li,
      It’s my goal in life to get as many people as possible on the Princess Diaries train. 🙂 In truth, that is a series I read again and again because it’s so sweet and funny. If I have a bad day, I grab a random volume and it always brings a smile to my face. And Michael Moscovitz is dreamy. Sigh. I love him (he reminds me of my husband in high school).
      Glad you liked the swoon. It was SO hard to narrow it down to a short list. There are about a billion more I could do!

  2. Pingback: Valentines Day and my dirty secret… | word vom

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Aww Moments « YA Crush

  4. Pingback: We’re About To Melt You « YA Crush

  5. Pingback: TGIF- Swooning Your Socks Off « YA Crush

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- The Best Picture of Me(No, not really) « YA Crush

Leave a Reply

