French Kisses are Best

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I know! Take off the dust jacket if you must. Just don't judge this one by its cover.

Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more.  So she’s less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets Etienne St. Clair.  Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true.  Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

 

 

Here is ze scoop:

Uh, no.

Anna is sent to a boarding school in Paris, which immediately made me think ZOMG I’m so jealous! French boys AND chocolate crepes every single day?  Heaven! But Anna is upset because she’s leaving just as life is getting good.  She’s finally a senior and this year should be the bomb, baby.  But instead of spending it at home near her little brother, her best friend, and her big crush-that’s-about-to-be-something-more, she’s being shipped off to a foreign country by her pretentious Nicholas Sparks wannabe father (the fact that Stephanie Perkins pokes fun at the Sparkster is reason enough for me to want her as my new best friend).

Even in a glorious new city, Anna is pretty certain life will totally blow.  She’s never been far from home, barely speaks the language and has no friends to call her own–that is, until her new dorm neighbor, Meredith, invites her over for some soothing hot chocolate (chocolate as a heal-all?  Love her!) and introduces Anna to her close friends.  Among these new acquaintances is the French/American/British (oh yes, accent alert) hottypants, Etienne St. Clair.  St. Clair, as everyone calls him, is one of those funny, outgoing guys that pretty much every girl in a one mile radius has the hots for, and Anna isn’t immune to his charms.  The problem?  St. Clair has a serious girlfriend. Suckville!

The Eiffel Tower

Holy freaking crap you guys, talk about a book that actually lives up to every ounce of hype its gotten!  Yowza! Anna and The French Kiss is every bit as sweet and magical as I’d heard it was.  Anna is funny and likeable in her struggle to acclimate to her new surroundings.  She does not suffer that fatal flaw of being perfect– in fact, she makes some stupid choices–but she is the kind of girl most of us would want to be friends with.

Anna and St. Clair have one of those relationships that seems so perfectly genuine. It brims with realism and uncertainty.  Their connection is undeniable, though it is hindered both by St. Clair’s current dating situation and by the obvious crush that Meredith, Anna’s very first friend at school, has on St. Clair.  And yet they both persist in pursuing a closer than close friendship that at times borders on something more.  Much of the story is spent in a state of will they or won’t they; on the edge of that romantic moment that almost maybe kind of starts to happen.  You think it’s coming—that confirmation you’ve been waiting for—and then someone says something stupid or backs down and the moment is lost.  Perkins has written these instances so perfectly I felt transported back to high school (but in a good way and with less poofy hair).

The thing I absolutely loved–besides the fantastically cute and funny writing style of Stephanie Perkins, AND besides the adorable hotness of St. Clair, AND besides the sweet, awkward way in which Anna carries herself–is that this is truly a romance novel.  It’s not some cheesy bodice ripper like the ones my grandmother used to read (and that I skimmed for all the dirty parts, which was like, most of the book). This book highlights the relationship between Anna and St.Clair, showing their journey from initial attraction, to all the simmering swoon that seems to have no place to go, to the final moments of clarity.  The main part of the story is their relationship, as opposed to other novels where it’s a story about a girl who just has to a) overcome some obstacle b) learn a lesson c) kill a bunch of tributes/vampires/wolves all while having a side order of romance.  Oh no, this is a story about a couple who may or may not be in love.  Everything else is a sidenote.  And the romance itself is so perfectly written in that funny, awkward, does he or doesn’t he? sort of way.  I absolutely loved it.

Crush Intensity: 5/5 Stephanie Perkins, the only word I know in French is merci. So merci for writing this funny, sweet, swoony story that I will read again and again!

Hello chocolate crepes (or chocolate anything). Reason enough to visit France.


23 thoughts on “French Kisses are Best

  1. “the fact that Stephanie Perkins pokes fun at the Sparkster is reason enough for me to want her as my new best friend”

    word.

    that’s reason enough for me to buy this book. i’m in. 😉

  2. i’m in the middle of it right now & i cannot say how much i love this book. i want to take the day off & just sit home & read it. but i’d be done in about 2 hours & then i’d have nothing to do (cause those clothes fold themselves, right?)

    • When I was reading it, my husband was away for the day and my kids had a friend over (so they wanted nothing to do with me). I was secretly so happy to have all that time to read with little interruption! It’s so funny that you’re reading it now. I pulled it out last night and started skimming my favorite parts. Heavenly!

  3. Pingback: What’s Happenin Hot Stuff? « YA Crush

  4. Pingback: So Much to Read « YA Crush

  5. Pingback: Etienne St. Clair: As Scrummy as a French Eclair (and perhaps just as tall…) « YA Crush

  6. Pingback: Swoon City: Vee’s BF List « YA Crush

  7. Pingback: Armchair BEA: Fav Books This Year (So far) « YA Crush

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Book Settings « YA Crush

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Trends We’d Like to See More or Less Of « YA Crush

  10. This is the best book and I LOVE ST. CLAIR. I love him, I love him, I want him…oops, I love him. I thank God he turned 18 in the book so I don’t seem so wrong…but I love him. *SIGH* Anyways, this book is lovely, adorable and so good you will likely read it in one sitting. Or you will follow your kids around, holding the book to your face, pour cereal and miss the bowl ‘cuz you are reading, put on a movie for them to watch ‘cuz you are reading…maybe that was me. It is wonderful. And you will fall in love with St. Clair because of his magnetism and charm. I have one question…is it wrong to want to makeout with this book?? My husband says, “That’s so dumb.” But if life were like the movie Weird Science, I would so create St. Clair… which is why I just finished my debut YA novel and I made the two boys extra yummy.

    • Oh my gosh, I think I need to make a list of bloggers I crush on because it’s like you’re in my head! 🙂 Seriously, I loved this book too. I’m super tall, so I had a hard time getting past St. Clair’s height at first, but he was so awesomely adorable (and their interactions were so cute) that I loved him. I’m so psyched to read her next book, Lola and the Boy Next Door, which comes out next month. It takes place in San Francisco, so I’m hoping Perkins will be like Sarah Dessen and have little sightings of other book characters in her new books.

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Read This Year That I Want to Marry « YA Crush

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books I’m Psyched About for 2012 « YA Crush

  13. Pingback: Lola and the Boy Next Door « YA Crush

  14. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books that Make Me Giggle « YA Crush

  15. Pingback: Casting Call- Anna and The French Kiss « YA Crush

  16. Pingback: Casting Call #5: Anna and the French Kiss « Gone Pecan

  17. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Books I Recommend Most | YA Crush

  18. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Wishlist | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

