Because The Toes Knows

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

This is how my heart felt the entire time I read this book

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

Lordy, oh Lordy do I love this book.  In all sincerity, I love it down to the tips of my toes.  I love every word, every character, every scene, even tiny moment written in its pages.  In short, I want to marry this book— or at least go on a long romantic get away with it.  Le sigh.

Initially I avoided The Sky Is Everywhere—although I’d heard it was beautiful— because I just didn’t want to read another sad story.  My little heart can only take so much, you know?  But this is much more than just a book about a girl who’s lost her sister.  Lennie has lost her entire sense of self since her bright, shining star of a big sis, Bailey, suddenly collapsed and died.  Since that moment one month ago, Lennie is struck with the reality that she doesn’t know who she is or what to do without following that radiating love from her only sibling.

As Lennie’s grief is at its very pinnacle, she finds comfort in the one person who completely understands the darkness she feels:  Toby, Bailey’s boyfriend.  Toby is practically drowning in sadness and Lennie soon finds that with their mutual pain comes a strange force, almost like a magnet drawing them to each other, even against the inner voice that tells her Toby is the one guy she should never be with.

On the opposite end of the spectrum is Joe, the new boy in school (but you knew that right?  New guy= hot.  It’s a rule.).  Joe is obviously interested in Lennie (he calls her “John Lennon”.  How cute is that?), and he envelops her in his uniquely sweet charm.  He’s like a human sun, overflowing with warmth and joy and helping Lennie to feel happy in moments when she otherwise would not.  Both boys, Lennie’s family (including her awesome, mildly crazy Grams), and Lennie’s memories of Bailey,  help her on her journey through the mourning process.

Nelson’s writing is absolutely beautiful.  It was, to me at least, somewhat reminiscent of Sarah Dessen—the master at artfully balancing flawed heroines, swoony boys, and weightier issues.  She paints a vivid picture of grief and healing, as well as the guilt sometimes associated with being the one left behind.  And her characters were endearing.  Lennie is both heartbreaking and hilarious, maintaining a bizarre inner monologue of insane thoughts.  Bailey, though we only get to know her through flashbacks, is that perfect older sister—always Lennie’s biggest protector and most ardent cheerleader.  Grams is totally nuts, but in that quirky sort of way where, if she were your grandma you might be embarrassed, but as an outsider she’s just awesomely kooky.  And the boys…shall we sigh again?  Toby is a sort of heartbroken cowboy (seriously.  He’s into horses) who has a primal connection to Lennie that is undeniable.  And Joe, who clearly adores Lennie, is force of hope and clarity throughout her pain.

The Sky Is Everywhere is laced with poetry, sweet but often painful memories and a realistic sense of loss.  It paints a vivid picture of what it means to love and to grieve while at the same time offering so many moments that made me laugh out loud or smile (especially the swoonworthy romance).  In the end, I was sad to close that cover and say goodbye to Lennie’s story.  This is already one of my favorite books of the year.

Crush Intensity: 5/5  So enchanting.  I’m totally quel dork for this one.

Memorable Quotes:

“Good. Glad that’s decided.” He raises an eyebrow.  “I’m going to deflower you, John Lennon.”

“Oh my God, so, so embarrassing, quel, quel, major dork.” I try to cover my face with my hands, but he won’t let me.  And then we are wrestling and laughing and it’s many, many minutes before I remember that my sister has died.

And just one more:

When I’m with him

there is someone with me

in my house of grief,

someone who knows

its architecture as I do

who can walk with me

from room to sorrowful room

making the whole rambling structure

of wind and emptiness

not quite as scary, as lonely

as it was before.


Soundtrack: The Beatles





24 thoughts on “Because The Toes Knows

  1. Beautiful review! I’ve been seeing this around and, although I knew I’d want to read it, I haven’t done much to make it a priority. Guess I’m going to have to now!!

    • I was the same way. I kept walking past it t the bookstore and library, figuring it was just too sad…but it’s so good. And it’s funny. Definitely check it out!

  2. i got it from the library & i cannot wait to read it! although, i also have to read anna & the french kiss, and 2 1/2 other books because i’m in the middle of a series, but THANK GOD for renewable library books 🙂 la la la la. okay, i’m in crazyland, it’s friday afternoon & i had a cookie.

    • I’m so excited for you to read it. Anna and the French Kiss is really cute too. We have a review of that one coming up. I just got Deception (thanks for the recommendation), but I probably won’t be able to start it until Monday because I’m finishing another book too. And hey, Crazyland is a great place. It’s where I prefer to live, especially if there’s cookies there! 🙂

      • i finished it last night. stayed up until after 11 when i had woke up at 430. this book is the new standard…the way she writes, it’s more like poetry than prose. so many beautiful similies and descriptions of emotions, just beautiful language. ugh. i cannot describe how much i loved this book. and Joe (bat, bat) and Toby, too, who I wanted to hug. and Big (how I love Big). thanks for the recommendation!

      • Ha! I forgot about “bat bat”. I’m so glad you liked it! I feel the same way. I want to dive in again because her writing is so beautiful. Hopefully she writes more great books soon.

  3. See this is why I come here– you both seem to pick the books that I can’t pull the trigger on and let me know whether to get them or not. Love it. And thank you! 😉

    • Thank you! This is one I was on the fence about too, but my librarian put it in my hands and said, “Read it.” So, like a good girl, I did. And I’m so glad I did!

  4. Pingback: Armchair BEA: Fav Books This Year (So far) « YA Crush

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books Tacking Tough Issues « YA Crush

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Books « YA Crush

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Had Strong Emotions About « YA Crush

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books I Read This Year That I Want to Marry « YA Crush

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Wish Would Write Another Stinking Book Already! « YA Crush

  10. Pingback: Fangirl Friday-January 27 « YA Crush

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Theme Song Edition « YA Crush

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Cover Edition « YA Crush

  13. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books to Read in a Day « YA Crush

  14. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books from the Last 10 Years that I Hope Will Be Read Forever « YA Crush

  15. Pingback: Summer is In Full Swing « YA Crush

  16. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Books for People Who Like Dessen « YA Crush

  17. Pingback: Casting Call- The Sky is Everywhere « YA Crush

  18. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Books I Recommend Most | YA Crush

  19. Pingback: Well Hello… | YA Crush

Leave a Reply

